Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Providers, how common is node abuse by consumers today and what do you do to combat it?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Providers, how common is node abuse by consumers today and what do you do to combat it?

pubcrawlerpubcrawler Banned
edited December 2012 in General

To the folks that are VPS providers:

How common is node abuse by your customers today?

What do you do to combat it?

Comments

• It's weekly, we deal with it by using monitoring systems and abuse scripts. As well as manual inspections.

• BTW: This thread is from another busy one now about node abuse.

I am not a provider, but, think some of the newer providers and those who haven't dealt with abuse issues could benefit from the collective knowledge of those who have been there and done that.

• Deal with it daily

Most comes from inexperience of the user like poor scripts, Deluge/torrents, and OCD idiots running benchmarks all day

• What counts as "abuse"? I've read some providers you can't use >% amount of CPU, RAM or you use too much IO etc.

Theres also the piracy excuse that I've had experience with using a VPS provider on here.

At the end of the day, it seems simple to me.

Piracy = DMCA notice, abuse.
    Spam = IP Blocklist/Complaint, abuse.
    CPU = 99% Usage 24/7, abuse
    RAM = Would using burstable ram for a long period of time be considered abuse? I'm not too sure how that works tbh.
    IO = If you are paying for a 100Mbit connection you should be able to use at least that for IO.

• Not very often, I don't have a abusive clientbase, the occasional SPAM Report but no major resource abuse issues.

• Oh, don't offer Windows VPS servers - your abuse/hand holding clients will disappear overnight