Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Security concerns with some of these providers?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Security concerns with some of these providers?

Hello,

Long time lurker here and really enjoy all of the information that everyone shares on their experiences, setups, solutions, etc. This is a really great community.

I'm currently using Cloud9 for some Rails and Meteor development projects but the problem is that I'm an individual developer with many, many different projects. Even more so when I outsource different parts and thus have projects to evaluate and merge. This does not work well with Cloud9 because their fees are enormous (to an indie guy like me) once you start needing any reasonable number of private workspaces.

So I decided to get my own server (or VPS) where I can either load up the Cloud9 software (because its open source) or I can use Cloud9 and connect to my server via SSH.

I'm looking at Delimiter, Bolt, and OpenTerminals if it matters but fundamentally the question is about security. I'm not writing any apps that are earth shatteringly important but I also don't want to find my code/apps popping up because the data I stored in a VPS or even a dedicated server was swiped. This same thing applies even to Cloud9 or anywhere else that could be compromised of course but they have the luxury of scale, public transparency, etc so at least the concern of them swiping code is unlikely at best. These small and cheap hosting companies, I'm sure as sure of.