Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

A Little Help with OpenVPN
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

A Little Help with OpenVPN

rooterrooter Member

Alright so I have been running a vpn for several years and this year my office implemented a new firewall. My VPN still connects and I am able to browse remote sites (remote from the server) but the local webserver is throwing errors on my iphone.

"Safari cannot open the page because it could not establish a secure connection to the server"

I can browse the local website when connected from my work laptop via the vpn with no issues. When I look in the nginx logs there are no references to the iphone trying to connect so it must be losing the traffic before it hits the webserver but I am at a loss to see why if it works on my windows work laptop.

Here is my server.conf

port 1194
proto udp
dev tun
ca ca.crt
cert server.crt
key server.key # This file should be kept secret
dh dh2048.pem
server 10.8.0.0 255.255.255.0
ifconfig-pool-persist ipp.txt
push "redirect-gateway def1 bypass-dhcp"
push "dhcp-option DNS 208.67.222.222"
push "dhcp-option DNS 208.67.220.220"
keepalive 10 120
comp-lzo
user nobody
group nogroup
persist-key
persist-tun
status /var/log/openvpn.status
verb 4
crl-verify crl.pem
topology subnet

And here is the client config:

lient
dev tun
proto udp
remote server.address.com 1194
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
user nobody
group nogroup
persist-key
persist-tun
ns-cert-type server
comp-lzo
verb 4

-----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
xxx-----END CERTIFICATE-----

-----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
xxx

-----BEGIN PRIVATE KEY-----
xxxxx
-----END PRIVATE KEY-----