Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Yet another storage plan (BETA)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Yet another storage plan (BETA)

MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran
edited November 2012 in General

Hello LET !

In the process of learning at Prometeus, Uncle gave me a few toys and said to make something of them.
I saw there is a need of storage plans and our customers are not very happy with the disk space we provide (good quality but expensive storage) I came up with the idea to offer versatile storage plans, very cheap for our customers.
Since half of LET already have a plan with us and they are also technologically inclined ppl, i post here this BETA free (for now) ride on our storage plan. please be gentle, this is my first project completed more or less alone, so might have made some errors :)
The bad news first:
1. It has no redundancy (no raid, nor backups, if a disk bombs, we will replace it, but not the data)
2. The CPU is small but you get a core and for a storage plan should suffice unless you plan to compress stuff there (will work but slow)
3. There is only IPv6 connectivity, but, for our customers that means nothing since all plans have IPv6. That doesnt mean will work only inside our DC, of course, but the backups from inside will go faster.

The good news is mainly that the virtualization is Xen-PV with pygrub, which basically means you can run everything there since you can use own kernel as long as you compile it for Xen DomU and, as such, you can use anything that fits the specs (I saw few ppl offering this and i felt the need in the past for more options such as iSCSI or NFS targets that OVZ cannot offer) .