Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Before i buy a Windows VPS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Before i buy a Windows VPS

dhanadhana Member

I am new to Windows VPS and want be safe before buying.

What details i must ask to providers before i buy a Windows VPS?

Comments

• PhotonVPSPhotonVPS Member, Host Rep

Are their licenses legit and not trial versions.

Thanked by 1FlamesRunner
  • Anything you could imagine ;)

Basically ask what is the virtualization. If it's OpenVZ you're probably not getting a Windows VPS IMO.

Also if you're getting a dedicated core. It would be an added advantage. KVM can be used to over sell RAM and some providers do it. It's a con. But I don't think that any provider would answer how many neighbors do I have type questions. In our case, we limit it to maximum of 65.

• PhotonVPS said: Are their licenses legit and not trial versions.

Some providers do BYOL system. You have to bring your license or pay extra for it.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

@sdglhm said:
    Basically ask what is the virtualization. If it's OpenVZ you're probably not getting a Windows VPS IMO.

Probably in your opinion? More like never under any circumstances as it's not technically possible :-) OvZ shares one Linux kernel for all VPSes on the server.

• @dhana,
    it'd be wiser to start with a Budget and Location in mind so that all here can point you to the right Provider.

Ofcourse, please decide if you want your own License to be installed (somewhat not acceptable by MS) or you want a Datacentre Edition license included in VPS which will cost you almost the price of a small VPS

Good luck

• NixtrenNixtren Member
    edited July 2015

@raindog308 said: