Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

need a complete guide thread
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

need a complete guide thread

sam-maximum sam-maximum Member
edited November 2012 in General

i am a newbie to this VPS world . just took VPS few days ago and encountered DEBIAN and CP=webmin . i am very much accustomed to CPANEL this is why it was hard to understand and utilise the system. now i have learned that through VPS you can do many things and i am interested to experiment with it. confusion starts here

1. many OS which to chose
  2. many CP [which to chose which is better in GUI]
  3. modules ? different config?
  4. must have things on a vps . must have installed various configurations
    and everything for beginners : please suggest tutorials,articles,linksand everything that is helpful

Comments

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran

While not complete by any measure, have some tutorials here, especially for VPN: http://board.prometeus.net/viewforum.php?f=8&sid=3faf3fb6f48ace53343426057b2f3565
    If you need a specific one, please say.
    M

• @rajin90

For point 1: the Virtualization platform can either restrict the choice of OS or expand the choice. e.g. OpenVZ (or Virtuozzo - the commercial version), limits you to Linux based distributions: CentOS, Debian, Ubuntu etc.

Xen PV can also limit what can be used as well. But Xen HVM (not the same as Xen PV), KVM, VMWare (not usually at LEB price range). You can install nearly anything, from free OS's to Paid ones.

If you are new to Unix/Linux and are planning to stick to Debian - take a look at "The Debian Administrator's Handbook" - see: http://debian-handbook.info/