Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

upgraded nginx (1.8.0) - php isn't workin anymore
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

upgraded nginx (1.8.0) - php isn't workin anymore

trexostrexos Member

Hi folks,

I just logged on my xen virtualized vps which I use as a webserver. I did an apt-get update/upgrade and it looks like it installed a new kernel (Linux myvps.tld 3.2.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.2.65-1+deb7u1 i686) and upgraded nginx from (IIRC) 1.6.3 to 1.8.0. I use dotdeb as additional package list server. The upgrade went smooth but it looks like something is messed up with php-fpm which I'm using for serving php based sites, because I receive only white sites when opening a php file. I'm new to nginx as I normally used apache2 so I don't really know how to fix the issue. Here is an example site config I'm using:
http://pastebin.com/iXqqDMQA

Does anyone know how to fix this? I would really appreciate help :)

Comments

• Paste output of /var/log/nginx/error.log (if you have any).

• Without an error log it's not easy to diagnose, but after a quick Google search, it seems a similar problem was resolved on serverfault two days ago:

Link: https://serverfault.com/a/690313

• trexostrexos Member

this line looks interesting to me: http://pastebin.com/ag9Ufrw4

• service php5-fpm restart

What does that say?

• trexostrexos Member

@joodle I already tried that, it simply restarts.

Anyway, @telephone thanks for the hint! I added the line "fastcgi_param SCRIPT_FILENAME $document_root$fastcgi_script_name;" and it's working again.

I'm interested, do you know what it exactly changes?

• trvztrvz Member
    edited May 2015

One of the problems is different users specified in the php5-fpm and nginx configurations.