Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Snowshow spammers and "low end" server providers
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Snowshow spammers and "low end" server providers

I've been operating a mailserver for a small tech company since 1999. Naturally we have many email addresses that have become defunct over the years, and both these and most of our current active addresses have been circulating in various spamer's lists for years.

My approach to spam blocking is that upon receipt of a spam from, say, 1.2.3.4, I will search our server's logs for any evidence that a valid or "good" email has ever been received from 1.2.0.0/16. If not, I will add 1.2.0.0/16 to my server's blocking list - regardless of how that /16 is allocated or subdivided. I am blocking about 80 /8 "A-classes", and in total I'm probably blocking 70% of all IPv4 IP space.

Yesterday I noticed in our logs a persistent IP that was attempting SMTP contact, but was being rejected by our server. The IP was 107.182.132.149. The rDNS indicated the domain "queryfoundry.net" - which doesn't seem to operate a website for for which a web search returns nothing useful about that entity. Whois information links that IP to Cloudshards (or Cloud Shards).

A websearch for Cloud Shards / Query Foundary led me to this "low end talk" forum, where (apparently) someone who owns, runs, or works for that entity has posted here.