Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Debian vs CentOS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Debian vs CentOS

LeoKLeoK Member

I have been working with CentOS for a couple years at a previous job. Now I am trying to consolidate various small boxes into one. Where I want to host a couple of WebSites, Seafile, Mail, FTP server and maybe a game server. Only for personal and family use. I am finding that some packages I want to use (ISPconfig) are more stable on Debian. Any thoughts or advice?

Comments

• Prefere debian for low ram vps

• Debian better for any environment.

• I vote for Debian/Ubuntu. This said, coming from CentOS, and assuming you haven't already, you might want to take a look at the new CentOS CP.

• Having used both, I prefer Debian.

• @Profforg said:
    Debian better for any environment.

Hosting shared accounts with cPanel?

• Jonchun said: Hosting shared accounts with cPanel?

If cPanel will support Debian, then yes.

• Since this is for personal use I am not going to use cPanel, I am looking at ISPconfig.

Thanked by 1obakfahad
  • Debian every time. If it's for personal use, check out VestaCP - which will handle your web/mail/ftp/db/etc - very nice panel.

• XsltelXsltel Member, Host Rep

On Debian you can upgrade from 6 to 7 to 8 and so on without any problem with incompatibility.

on CentOS you will have to backup your stuff, reformat your VPS with new CentOS release and then restore your stuff.

I would prefer Debian with no doubt.

Mohammed

Thanked by 1aglodek
  • Debian is amazing!

• Definitely recommending Debian. It's just much smoother to work with.

• Debian for sure!

• Debian is the best. Many people probably only use CentOS because of cPanel

Thanked by 3Profforg 4n0nx PremiumN