Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help with first lowendbox
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Help with first lowendbox

LinuxNewbLinuxNewb Member
edited August 2012 in Help

I'm about to purchase my first lowendbox. I want to use it as a private proxy. Thinking of a sock5 proxy through ssh but would rather use squid. can a 128mb box handle squid for a single proxy user? 'm looking a vpscheap right now.
Also what distro should I use Debian seems popular also the smallest. 32bit debian 6 ok?

I am a complete newb with linux/servers. I'm nota complete idiot and fairly good with computers I program in windows and know some electrical/computer engineering. I worked on a project in ubuntu once and tried getting arch up on VM(did nothing with it) but that's as far as my linux experience goes,that means no real terminal experience,etc..
Any tips/advice resources and books about linux/unix and servers/networking would be appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Comments

• Also i have owned a VPS before ,although it was windows and i know php/MySQL
    not that it should matter i think

• XeoncrossXeoncross Member
    edited August 2012

I recommend you read over this thread which has several scripts to help you get up and running.

Thanked by 1LinuxNewb
  • AlexBarakovAlexBarakov Patron Provider, Veteran

I think squid shoud be able to run on 128MB. I personally run it on 256 MB VPS. I generally can do a test for you tommorow if I have time. Runnign some optimisation scripts should be able to get the memory usage to under 10MB, than Squid will have plenty of RAM.

Thanked by 1LinuxNewb
  • hand made scripts always got me in trouble.