Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
DotVPS.net anybody any reviews?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

DotVPS.net anybody any reviews?

daimonbdaimonb Member
edited October 2011 in Providers

They are selling their business (wht) and im thinking of buying but obviously dont want to buy a company that has bad rep and inherit their problems. The figures they sent me stack up but they have only been going since june.

«1

Comments

  • I just know a company named DotVPS which is/has been looking for clients in various hacking/bitcoin-BBs. I guess they found a lot clients there. Quite often used for bitcoin.

    Thanked by 1daimonb
  • Must be good though look at the awards on this page http://dotvps.net/sitemap.php on right hand side they got all them in 4 months. - Slight hint of sarcasism.

  • hahahahhaa no

    Postgres

  • Go59954Go59954 Member
    edited October 2011

    Looks they are putting that one as a sort of decoration, like those putting affiliate icons of a set of major companies without any relation with them/their products to begin with! But they took it to next level by using fictitious awards :X A plus for them though might be using a licensed IPboard forum for their clients (probably not so many). And I didn't see reviews yet tbh, but googling it might work :)

    ☻☻ VPS ☺ as of now:- 384-256-128-512x2 ☺☺

  • drmikedrmike Member
    edited October 2011

    I believe all those icons are for those "review" sites that I have moaned about on occasion.

    edit: And the server room at the bottom right of this page:

    http://dotvps.net/about-us.php

    Is one of the US government datacenters I believe where nuclear explosions are calculated. We had a wpmu service use that image and they got in trouble for it.

  • InfinityInfinity Member, Provider

    Oh Josh. Not him.. As far as I remember he started a VPS company, shut it down, then started this.

    Cablestreet - London based ISP - Managed Solutions, Carrier Services, Colocation, Dedicated Servers, VMs, and more..

  • daimonbdaimonb Member
    edited October 2011

    really what other company

  • FranciscoFrancisco Top Provider

    Don't touch them.

    They have a wonderful history on hackforums for allowing booters/etc to be hosted on them. They also caused quite an ugly mess for IonVM by talking a lot of smack.

    The booter hosting is pretty nasty since those posts are up and staying on there on hackforums.

    You can search for them on WHT and see where they discussed it with me and claim they're out of that business, but that doesn't change the fact the name is tarnished.

    Francisco

    Thanked by 1daimonb
    BuyVM - Free DirectAdmin, Softaculous, & Blesta! / Anycast Support! / Windows 2008, 2012, & 2016! / Unmetered Bandwidth!
    BuyShared - Shared & Reseller Hosting / cPanel + Softaculous + CloudLinux / Pure SSD! / Free Dedicated IP Address
  • @francisco did see that but obviously wanted to give him benefit of doubt would explian his unuaslly high number of customers given 4 months trading.

  • DanielMDanielM Disabled
    edited October 2011

    Has anyone not noticed there whois? :L

    http://whois.domaintools.com/dotvps.net

  • DanielM said: Has anyone not noticed there whois? :L

    http://whois.domaintools.com/dotvps.net

    All I can say is WOW!!!

    Catch me over at Primary DNS. If you want to chat I am done with this cesspool.

  • FranciscoFrancisco Top Provider

    daimonb said: @francisco did see that but obviously wanted to give him benefit of doubt would explian his unuaslly high number of customers given 4 months trading.

    Not sure what 'benefit of a doubt' you have to give. He admitted to hosting them for a while and claims he 'changed his stance because they are bad!!!!'. What I really think happened is either his box was pulled offline by his datacenter or he was getting constant DDOS attacks targetted at the booters.

    Francisco

    BuyVM - Free DirectAdmin, Softaculous, & Blesta! / Anycast Support! / Windows 2008, 2012, & 2016! / Unmetered Bandwidth!
    BuyShared - Shared & Reseller Hosting / cPanel + Softaculous + CloudLinux / Pure SSD! / Free Dedicated IP Address
  • yeah they were on his website about all the ddos attacks. Am sure he will find a buyer just not me :)

  • He wants 2 to 3K for it. Hah :D

  • Thanks Francisco for the useful info

  • How come * turns the text into italic :S

  • offered it me for 1.5k

  • Kwl. Try offering him 500 then, he will probably fold.

  • @VMport -- Markdown is used here so wrapping text between a single asterisk like *this* would make this italic.

    And you don't really need all the <br/> for new lines. Just append two spaces at the end of the line, the "markdown way".

    Blog at LowEndBox.com.

  • Thanks LEA never heard of Markdown before :S
    Hope your doing well.

    Thanked by 1drmike
  • kiloservekiloserve Member
    edited October 2011

    daimonb said: They are selling their business (wht) and im thinking of buying but obviously dont want to buy a company that has bad rep and inherit their problems

    I had a VPS with dotVPS. Performance was ok for the price via WHT offer. There was a bad stroke of downtime and that's why I cancelled.

    BTW, I tried to get a VPS from you too a few months ago too but I failed your fraud check (I do understand why I failed the check, not your fault), Kudos for the courteous responses and quick refund. :)

  • email me which package and ill get you setup buddy. :)

  • Thanks LEA never heard of Markdown

    And some folks here think it's a standard....

    as to the whois, we've had providers use their datacenters' address before. Not the first time.

  • kiloservekiloserve Member
    edited October 2011

    daimonb said: email me which package and ill get you setup buddy. :)

    Just ordered your UK Xen package (look for kiloserve signup).

    Thank you sir for personally taking care of this and sorry to hijack the thread :)

  • @kiloserve all setup for you buddy

  • edited October 2011

    Adding to your Comment: Francisco:

    Don't touch them.

    They have a wonderful history on hackforums for allowing booters/etc to be hosted on them. They also caused quite an ugly mess for IonVM by talking a lot of smack.

    The booter hosting is pretty nasty since those posts are up and staying on there on hackforums.

    You can search for them on WHT and see where they discussed it with me and claim they're out of that business, but that doesn't change the fact the name is tarnished.

    Francisco

    http://screensnapr.com/v/rA2oho.png

    This is part of the new account information i got 6 weeks ago. They Dont Allow them and run daily scans for perl DoS scripts , Kaitlen and other scripts.

  • FranciscoFrancisco Top Provider

    jack said: http://screensnapr.com/v/rA2oho.png

    This is part of the new account information i got 6 weeks ago. They Dont Allow them and run daily scans for perl DoS scripts , Kaitlen and other scripts.

    NOW they don't, but they used to.

    What kinda of clientele are you expecting by advertising on hackforums?

    Francisco

    BuyVM - Free DirectAdmin, Softaculous, & Blesta! / Anycast Support! / Windows 2008, 2012, & 2016! / Unmetered Bandwidth!
    BuyShared - Shared & Reseller Hosting / cPanel + Softaculous + CloudLinux / Pure SSD! / Free Dedicated IP Address
  • I got my VPS. 20/08/2011 so nearly 8 weeks.
    They started in June.
    June - August they may have allowed them but not anymore.
    I've been on teamviewer multiple times with the owner. For help with things.
    He runs a bash script on a cronjob find certain file types. names. ect. then it emails him results.
    Personally im not sure if its due to the NL nodes being 1gbps and the limit set to 100mbps per vm but not had any downtime as of yet.

  • InfinityInfinity Member, Provider

    Francisco said: What kinda of clientele are you expecting by advertising on hackforums?

    LOL

    Cablestreet - London based ISP - Managed Solutions, Carrier Services, Colocation, Dedicated Servers, VMs, and more..

  • Francisco said: What kinda of clientele are you expecting by advertising on hackforums?

    Um clearly legitimate people wanting to learn linux for greater good

    Postgres

  • Actually one of my girl scout leaders mentioned that she had found a host on a site advertised there....

  • InfinityInfinity Member, Provider

    An offshore hosting site..

    Cablestreet - London based ISP - Managed Solutions, Carrier Services, Colocation, Dedicated Servers, VMs, and more..

  • according to his post he has now found a buyer. Its not me lol

  • www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1090213

    oh boy

    Postgres

  • lol iwas just reading it think they might be the new owners given he has said he has sold it and the new owners wish to remain anon.

  • http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1090213 ive had my fun with him, ill probably get done for bullying or something lol

  • If I hadn't realized that some thing was up, I would have stopped reading after the first sentence of the "review."

  • DotVPS provides a nice review of Eleven2 :)

    http://bit.ly/o27PvH

    NordicVPS.com - Unmanaged XEN and KVM VPS in US and EU - SolusVM - OpenVZ with VSwap
  • noticed that also noticed he is now "senior management" if i owned a company which i do i would be proud to say owner which i do lol point is think he has taken on a partner my guess the op of the dotvps review.

  • daimonbdaimonb Member
    edited October 2011

    @francisco remeber the thread where dotvps swore blind he no longer used hacker forums etc.... well guess what

    posted yesterday hackerforums.net

    xViper
    DotVPS Hosting

    Just an update to everyone,

    I was considering selling DotVPS to someone who would be able to run it, as I recently had a new job offer which I am going to accept, rather then have a lack of support, I was considering selling it, so that customers would still be able to get support, without having to wait for me to get home from work each night.

    I have made the decision to keep DotVPS, and I will not be selling it, soon we will be hiring more support staff, to help aid in keeping our high level of service and support to the best it can be

    If you meet the following criteria, feel free to apply, each application will be reviewed, if we see you suitable, an interview would be conducted by the COO either over skype call, or via IM on MSN/AIM:

    More Information: https://dotvps.net/careers.php

    Skills Needed

    • Strong knowledge of Linux-based server software
    • Strong interpersonal and communication skills and the ability to work effectively with a team.
    • Ability to communicate effectively, both orally and in writing.
    • Experience with Live Chat and Ticket Support Systems
    • Experience with cPanel and SolusVM Control Panels

    Responsibilities

    • Consistently meet or exceed SLA obligations.
    • Manage relationships with 3rd party partners.
    • Follow technical policies, standards and best practices set forth by the management team.
    • Routinely perform system audits to ensure security and system reliability.
    • Monitor server environment for anomalies and errors, reporting and escalation of issues.
    • Provide the required daily support to customers and clientelle.
  • FranciscoFrancisco Top Provider

    @daimonb - I know i'm a dick to many people but i'm usually not far off the mark :)

    Francisco

    BuyVM - Free DirectAdmin, Softaculous, & Blesta! / Anycast Support! / Windows 2008, 2012, & 2016! / Unmetered Bandwidth!
    BuyShared - Shared & Reseller Hosting / cPanel + Softaculous + CloudLinux / Pure SSD! / Free Dedicated IP Address
  • he tried sticking up for himself commenting on mine and vmport comments but have blasted him down go in for kill franciso

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1090213

  • oh i must have read your wht comments wrong then about you suspending the hackers etc. Silly me must goto specsavers.

  • FranciscoFrancisco Top Provider

    daimonb said: oh i must have read your wht comments wrong then about you suspending the hackers etc. Silly me must goto specsavers.

    I gotta agree here, there's no legit hosts on hackforums. So either you're taking the cash in hopes of TOSing them and keeping it with your proclaimed monitoring systems or yea.

    Anyone looking for legit hosting isn't going to look for it on HF since they know the scum that's posted/hosted around there.

    Francisco

    BuyVM - Free DirectAdmin, Softaculous, & Blesta! / Anycast Support! / Windows 2008, 2012, & 2016! / Unmetered Bandwidth!
    BuyShared - Shared & Reseller Hosting / cPanel + Softaculous + CloudLinux / Pure SSD! / Free Dedicated IP Address
  • bear just said it's beyond there rules to do anything on wht about him advertising.

    Just hope the wise stear clear.

  • "We do not allow DOS, DDoS Scripts, Malicious Scripts, or anything prohibited by US Law" thought your servers were NL

  • @dotvps your homepage is messed up in i.e

  • tuxtux Member

    DotVPS said: We do not allow DOS, DDoS Scripts, Malicious Scripts, or anything prohibited by US Law.

    Why you not allow Disk Operating System?

  • daimonbdaimonb Member
    edited October 2011

    well surely the best answer would be laws relating to the country the server is hosted in us laws dont cover nl and de

    also can you prove the awards on your page http://dotvps.net/support.php

    your an example of why many people dont trust new hosts.

Sign In or Register to comment.