Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Budget BGP (cisco)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Budget BGP (cisco)

I've been running Vyatta Software Routers for about 3 years now. Never had a problem. Every year or so, I like to check out aging Cisco Routers that may do a better job.

Since Vyatta got destroyed by Brocade, I've been looking at other solutions. Are there any decent Cisco Routers capable of handling 2x1GB Connections with Full Routes from each ISP (Level 3 & twTelecom). I'm looking for something used that can handle it but I don't want to pay $3500 per router either. I looked at RouterOS, but until they do multi-core BGP, I don't really trust the platform yet.

Comments

• If you don't need the full BGP tables it can be easy and cheap. But cisco routers capable of handling the full (500K+) BGP tables are not cheap, even at the second hand market.

• PFSense may do, it is a freebsd firewall / router. Bring your own hardware too :)

• KuJoeKuJoe Member, Host Rep

If you like Vyatta you'll love Ubiquiti's EdgeRouters. Replaced 2 Vyatta routers with 2 ERLites and they were amazing. So much power for under $120 shipped. If you need full BGP tables the non-Lite versions will better suit your needs (Pro is $369 + shipping).

• The problem with all of this is if you get hit by a high PPS flood, these lowend routers (there is a good new website name) will just fall over.

Thanked by 2vimalware ATHK
  • @FalconInternet said:
    Since Vyatta got destroyed by Brocade, I've been looking at other solutions.

VyOS was forked and is actively developed. I have been using it in production with multiple BGP sessions, no problems.

• shovenoseshovenose Member, Host Rep

@KuJoe said: