Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Which HDDs...?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Which HDDs...?

PacketVMPacketVM Member, Host Rep
edited July 2012 in Help

Considering getting 2xHDDs in RAID. I'm new to RAID and building servers.

Which model/make of HDD would you use? Probably only need 500GB but would consider 1TB, and which raid card/set up?

Thanks!

Comments

• What do you need the HDDs for? Mostly just storing files or stuff like databases? WIll it be running 24/7?

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran
    edited July 2012

for 2 hdds it is probably not worth getting a card, software raid should work. You can also only do mirror or stripping.
    In case of mirroring you have half the capacity but 100% redundancy and in case of stripping you have some performance increase but 2 times more likely to lose the data, and if you lose it, it will be really lost in most cases.
    If you want a real raid, get 3 hdds at least, from 4 it starts to look more like it.
    M

• jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran
    edited July 2012

Two good, solid drives on RAID1 is fine, but 4 on RAID10 is a lot better. If you're building a vps node I suggest the latter as the bare minimum.

• @jarland said: Two good, solid drives on RAID1 is fine, but 4 on RAID10 is a lot better.

Correct me if I am wrong, but Raid 1 has the same redundancy as Raid 10?

• PacketVMPacketVM Member, Host Rep

@gsrdgrdghd said: What do you need the HDDs for? Mostly just storing files or stuff like databases? WIll it be running 24/7?

It's not a production server, but it would be online 24/7. Storing files, small databases. Basically, it's going to have websites and a Minecraft server on it. As I said, it's not for production.