Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Review of Vultr
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Review of Vultr

I've been using Vultr for 4 months now, not persistent usage but for testing things/running VMs which don't need to be powered up 24/7. Recently though I have chosen Vultr to run a server for me on a permanent basis.

CPU performance is fantastic, 3.4Ghz cores make things fly. It would be nice if CPU details weren't masked..

root@209:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 60
model name      : Vultr Virtual CPU 2
stepping        : 1
microcode       : 0x1
cpu MHz         : 3491.930
cache size      : 4096 KB

Network performance can be pretty decent. I've managed to sustain 700Mb/s throughput for several minutes at a time without a problem. I found performance in NJ to be a iffy sometimes, only ~100Mb/s transferring files between Vultr and other servers in the US.

The client area is a little lacking and plain. The snapshot feature doesn't always work. I've had no problems creating snapshots but find it can completely fail trying to restore sometimes. I've left instances for 3 hours previously attempting to restore a 15GB snapshot with no luck, it just does nothing. It would be nice if snapshots could be stored in specific DCs like DO offer, having to wait for a snapshot several GB in size to transfer from a remote server is tedious.

I'm really disappointed with the singlehomed network in London and how Vultr have handled my concerns/complaints regarding the matter. The website advertises multihomed connectivity but it's evident from use that they're linked with Level3 only.