Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

A very honest review of VPSDime

A very honest review of VPSDime

ironhideironhide Member
edited July 2014 in Reviews

Pros

  1. Excellent support. There are some knowledgable persons replying your support tickets who knows their stuffs very well.
  2. Sweet sweet offloaded MySQL service. This is something that can make your "heavy" apps fly even in a smaller VPS with 512MB ram ($15/yr). VPSDime offloaded MySQL service runs MariaDB in a gigantic server with 384GB of ram and a couple of SSDs in RAID setup. And it comes for free :) Zip Zilch Nada. This is one of the main reasons I am currently using 3 VPS from them and willing to buy more if required in the future.
  3. Very cooperative. If you're a loyal customer, sometime they will give you extra than you're actually paying for. It feels like that you're in good hands
  4. Idera backup/restore feature that takes backup of your system once everyday, and you can restore from there quite easily. Though I keep my own backup, but it's always handy to know that there are automated backups available :)
  5. Excellent network with fantastic uptime. I barely noticed any downtime to be honest
  6. No over commitment or false promises which they can't provide or deliver. I love their straight forward attitude
  7. They are friendly
  8. Excellent value for money, like 6GB Ram for $7, or 500GB storage for $7 :)

Cons (Not so many)

  1. I sometime don't like their auto reboot system when the load goes above 4 for over an hour, or above 2 for more than 2 hours. But it's not that much of a trouble for me either.

I will definitely score them 10/10 for their excellent service, and I know that many of you would do the same as well :)

Thanks

Comments

  • Good Review.. all serverian brands are awesome!

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • Thanks a lot for the kind words @ironhide. Unfortunately, the load restrictions are necessary since we do not throttle the vCPUs.

    Thanked by 1ironhide
  • AnthonySmithAnthonySmith Member, Provider

    I like this sort of review, ::LIKE:: :) gz @serverian

    Inception Hosting Limited - NL, UK, Phoenix AZ USA, KVM and OpenVZ - || BitNinja ignored - Support not submitting to | DEAL OF
    ServersNV a brand of Inception Hosting Limited - UK KVM and OpenVZ - || bogus blacklists, add this to your signature.. | THE WEEK

    Thanked by 1ironhide
  • If someone post very honest review, I usually expect bad things. But not for @serverian brands.

    Kudos.

    -- Noerman

    Thanked by 2ironhide serverian
  • FlorisFloris Member
    edited July 2014

    This is how a review is done, and ofc kudos to @serverian for making a amazing brand.

    I only work for me, and myself.

  • Good review :).

    BeastNode.com | High-Performance SSD VPS | IPv6 Ready

    Los Angeles, CA -- Dallas, TX -- Piscataway, NJ | Speed Test

  • Good review, thank you for sharing your experience. I was about to buy one 6GB VPS (for a friend), but they were only taking paypal by the time.

  • agoldenbergagoldenberg Member, Provider

    Awesome Review! @serverian is awesome as are his brands!

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • jcalebjcaleb Super Moderator

    what's the UI for offloaded mysql?

    Twitter Bootstrap Themes for your software projects. I recommend Prometeus and Catalyst Host

  • @serverian said: Thanks a lot for the kind words ironhide. Unfortunately, the load restrictions are necessary since we do not throttle the vCPUs.

    Is there a way you could throttle, instead? I'd greatly prefer an automated throttle on high load, to an automated reboot.

  • GunterGunter Member
    edited July 2014

    @jcaleb said: what's the UI for offloaded mysql?

    A mix of WHCMS and phpMyAdmin

    Thanked by 2jcaleb ironhide
  • Great review - if only I could get a better route to the LA location, I would be all over it.

    Any opinions expressed are my own, correct, and generally unpopular with others. All rights reserved - but some wrongs are still available.

    Thanked by 10xdragon
  • I want to know when would vpsdime have stock for small plans.

  • RBHRBH Member
    edited July 2014

    serverian must be making bank! Good job for your hard work. It pays off :P

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • great review. glad to see you are in good hands :)

    their plans are awesome.surely will buy in future,if they accept direct cc payment :)

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • @DestroyeRCo said: Good review, thank you for sharing your experience. I was about to buy one 6GB VPS (for a friend), but they were only taking paypal by the time.

    @eversmile_host said: great review. glad to see you are in good hands :)

    their plans are awesome.surely will buy in future,if they accept direct cc payment :)

    We recently started to accept direct Credit/Debit card payments through 2Checkout.

    @deadlyllama said: Is there a way you could throttle, instead? I'd greatly prefer an automated throttle on high load, to an automated reboot.

    This is something we are working on on test servers. OpenVZ is not really great with it but we have seen some progress.

  • NeoonNeoon Member

    Serverian is doing a great joob, keep it up :)

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • Superb.. keep up the good work Serverian.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • serverian said: This is something we are working on on test servers. OpenVZ is not really great with it but we have seen some progress.

    That's what ON is for, it can deal with the process limit by utilizing KVM to spread the processes across "instances" that the host has access to (and uses the same ploop/vswap and identical host configuration / kernel.) Just as you brought up to me regarding the OpenVZ plugin.

    Acting Director of Albino Geek Services Ltd. My Keybase ID ( gh )
    GoodHosting.co | Enterprise KVM Virtual Private Servers | Twitter / Status : @ GoodHostingCo

  • CrabCrab Member

    Good review and I agree with every word.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • I already got several reboot emails from them but was never rebooted. Does their reboot system work?

    tsdns.io - free, redundant, DDoS-protected TSDNS

  • @tr1cky said: I already got several reboot emails from them but was never rebooted. Does their reboot system work?

    I've disabled the restarts for a while to troubleshoot something then left it like that for a while. Recently (~5 days ago) enabled them back though.

  • @serverian said: I've disabled the restarts for a while to troubleshoot something then left it like that for a while. Recently (~5 days ago) enabled them back though.

    Oh, that's bad, no more plex for me :x

    tsdns.io - free, redundant, DDoS-protected TSDNS

  • It's rather refreshing to hear about a company that sticks to it's promises. Thanks for sharing.

  • VPSDime is awesome.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • VPSDime support is amazing, all my tickets have been answered within a min. Definitely worth production based application hosting. Never had issue over 4 months now, also the uptime has been incredible smash's my 5 other providers. Keep up the good work

    See me on Github

    Fan of VPSDime & BuyVM

  • Any plans to restock the 512MB plan mentioned in this review @serverian?

  • @Detruire said: Any plans to restock the 512MB plan mentioned in this review serverian?

    Unfortunately, not at this time.

  • DroidDroid Member
    edited August 2014

    Where can I find the 512MB VPS for $15/yr, when back in stock?

  • @xClone84 said: Where can I find the 512MB VPS for $15/yr?


    @Detruire said: Any plans to restock the 512MB plan mentioned in this review serverian?


    @serverian said: Unfortunately, not at this time.


    Reading helps...

    Acting Director of Albino Geek Services Ltd. My Keybase ID ( gh )
    GoodHosting.co | Enterprise KVM Virtual Private Servers | Twitter / Status : @ GoodHostingCo

  • I had quick response as well. and it is the first week. I did some looking around and seems like they have a solid run at provisioning and service fulfillment. This is good news for me. If it holds steady I plan to affiliate link it. Ran outta bandwidth and found an affordable immediate situation for a few of my sites. Plus I got 20 gigs of optimized MySQL hosting. This is a great value, no doubt about it. Service delivery, i think that vpsdime can. So far so good.

    @lukesUbuntu said: VPSDime support is amazing, all my tickets have been answered within a min. Definitely worth production based application hosting. Never had issue over 4 months now, also the uptime has been incredible smash's my 5 other providers. Keep up the good work

  • Its good to see a good review; keep us all posted.

    24x7 Tech Support yezhost.com/contact
    Hosting Made Affordable

  • vpsdime loke like old 64u.com (later sold)

  • would love to get one if they add managed support as add-on.

  • @Servian I was wondering if it's only location is UK as that appears to be the only selectable although the site seems to say otherwise.

    Jr System Administrator

  • @HyperSpeed said: Servian I was wondering if it's only location is UK as that appears to be the only selectable although the site seems to say otherwise.

    That's for the high storage plans. We are out of stock in the US for that product line.

    Our high memory product line is available in Dallas, Seattle, Los Angeles and New Jersey.

  • nunimnunim Member
    edited August 2014

    @serverian said: ... Our high memory product line is available in Dallas, Seattle, Los Angeles and New Jersey.

    I've been using the Seattle location since it launched and I'm very pleased, have not noticed any performance issues and the network is good, my only complaint about SEA is lack of IPv6.

    Dallas has been nothing short of excellent, I've been hosting some of my primary website's on one of the 512 plans and I have nothing negative to say (thanks for the IPv6!).

    The free R1Soft backups are a great addition to an excellent service, I have not yet utilized this feature as I take my own backups but I am glad to know it's available should I need it.

    Bottom line is that you really can't go wrong with VPSDime, or any of Oktay's products from what I've seen.

    SonicBoxes.com - VPS Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
    6UA.net Various tools, screenshots, password gen, looking glass, etc..

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • @serverian said:

    Aah, makes sense! I just wondered as it has no network information on United Kingdom, would it be likely that any other location would come back for that product-line? Could you elaborate on these 'Free R1SOFT backups' mentioned in another, is that to do with HIGH-RAM plans?

    Jr System Administrator

  • fencerfencer Member
    edited September 2014

    @serverian hi I can see (found) that you offer a kvm service at https://vpsdime.com/cart.php?gid=3 , is it available as I haven't heard from it before?

  • @fencer said: serverian hi I can see (found) that you offer a kvm service at https://vpsdime.com/cart.php?gid=3 , is it available as I haven't heard from it before?

    That's a test product :)

  • @serverian: is ipv6 ready for birthday special vps?

Sign In or Register to comment.