Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

WHMCS Hacked - Page 10
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

WHMCS Hacked

Comments

• @rds100 said: @liam well, he has to host it somewhere after all.

Your a company with a revenue of over $1,000,000 and you use shared hosting?

• rds100rds100 Member

@Daniel i think it was their own dedi, not a shared hosting account.

• @rds100 said: @Daniel i think it was their own dedi, not a shared hosting account.

Ah right, but still use HostGator?

I just looked at the WHMCS News Feed, ouch. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2734617/Screenshots/k0ys2_mzkhxk.png

• rds100rds100 Member
    edited May 2012

I have no experience with HostGator, can't comment. At least they didn't use GoDaddy :)

• @liam said: Still a lot!

It is, considering its only been 5 months of the year.

• laaevlaaev Member

He also did tell me there were 15-20 staff member accounts, so you have to remember Matt had quite a few employees he had to pay as well.

But from the info my source has given me WHMCS seems like a very profitable business, why they did not hire a dedicated abuse/security team is beyond me.

• WHMCS Not Fully hacked - Someone tried too.. But they restored it.. FAST.

---------------- WHMCS Send Mail to Us--------------------------
    Unfortunately today we were the victim of a malicious social engineering attack which has resulted in our server being accessed, and our database being compromised.

To clarify, this was no hack of the WHMCS software itself, nor a hack of our server. It was through social engineering that the login details were obtained.

As a result of this, we recommend that everybody change any passwords that they have ever used for our client area, or provided via support ticket to us, immediately.