Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Email and eventually App/Website sizing help
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Email and eventually App/Website sizing help

zell72zell72 Member

Hi,

After the Microsoft debacle with their Live Admin Domains accounts I am now looking for some advice on how I would migrate the existing three accounts and move them to a VSP.

I have had experience with setting up and administrating mail servers before (Exchange and Notes) but what I can afford to go with either of these (Office365 included).

I have some experience in BSD, Solaris, SCO Unix as well as limited experience in Linux so I think I can do most of the stuff manually. (I have had experience with Sendmail and generally know its in and outs.)

What I need is a good way of migrating the existing Windows Live Domain accounts (yes I can get admin access to all of them). I would also need some type of filtering (virus/spam, setting up Spamassassin or equivalent is not out of the question), it does not have to be brilliant but effective,

I would also need the VPS to be expandable in the future to support an Android/Windows Phone app (at the moment I do not care about DB) and maybe a website (maybe Joomla because I know it). Initial, when the app and website is available it use should only be several hundred a month going on thousands after a couple of years.

Thanks for reading, even though I have been working in the IT industry for over 25 years I still need community help to size things which are not part of my core skills, so if anybody has any idea on sizing what I would need (as well as at the moment being cheap) it would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments