Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

One year of service with many different providers: A postmortem.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

One year of service with many different providers: A postmortem.

Hello, everyone. I lurk LEB for good deals and have for some years. I'm a programmer and ran my own business doing web development and client site hosting for a long time (>6 years). I rarely see an objective, thorough review of services from many different providers, so I thought I'd buy services from about ten VPS providers advertised on LEB, run a few non-critical services on them for a year, and see how they hold up. I did this for myself, but since I'm sharing the results, I guess I'm also doing this for all of you.

Here's a disclaimer: As if it weren't apparent, I am only one person with one experience with these many providers over the last year, so just because a particular hosting provider completely hosed my VPS and then left me in the dark with bad support, doesn't necessarily mean it will happen to you. Likewise, just because a provider gave me the best service I've had in my entire life, doesn't necessarily mean you'll get the same thing. All of this being said, if you stick a thermometer in a bathtub full of water, you're going to get a pretty good idea of whether or not it's a good idea to jump in.