Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

GreenValueHost VPS Review (New Years Special)
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

GreenValueHost VPS Review (New Years Special)

prae5prae5 Member
edited January 2014 in Reviews

I thought I provide you with a quick review of my services so far with GreenValueHost as there isn't many reviews of them here.

I've been tempted several times in the past by some of GreenValueHost's offers, but was somewhat wary for a few reasons - mainly their ToS seemed potentially somewhat excessively restrictive and potentially wouldn't allow running a software download mirror (my primary use). I know that some people can find their responses a little terse at times, but this was never really a concern for me - providing the service works well thats all i care about.

I confirmed with them that I could run a software mirror with them, and decided to take a punt on one of their New Years Specials.

The service was advertised as:

  • LET Exclusive New Years Special #4 - $7.00/month OR $48.00/year (BEST VALUE!)

  • OpenVZ Virtualization

  • 300GB SSD Accelerated RAID-10 Disk Space

  • 35TB Premium Bandwidth @ 1Gbps Port

  • 4048MB Guaranteed RAM

  • 8192MB Burstable RAM

  • 3 IPv4

  • $7.00/month OR $48.00/year- NO CONTRACTS and NO BS-

I run XBMCNightlyBuilds.com which is a site that builds and distributes nightly development builds of XBMC, OpenELEC and a few other similar projects. I already have a number of download mirrors, but was looking to implement a better system using MirrorBrain and this offer looked ideal for running the MirrorBrain master.

Signup process was relatively straight forward. Provisioning wasn't instant, but was setup within an hour or so.

I've had it in use for about a week now and so far I can't complain about the service so far, especially given the resources - I can't think of any other provider that offers 300GB/4GB for anywhere close to $48 a year.

The Good:

  • Good network links

  • Excellent resource allocations

  • Multiple IP's

The Bad:

  • Initially erratic disk io, was benchmarked at 120MB/s but quickly dropped to about 45/MB/s. This seems to be resolved now and I can only assume it was down to lots of users running benchmarks. It seems fairly consistatant at about 120-140MB/s

  • A little downtime (less than an hour i think) on the node yesterday due to abuse on the node. Again quickly resolved.

  • As of last night they have implemented a new policy to tackle abusive clients. Should your VPS be suspended, un-suspension for vps's that have been suspended for CPU abuse will be assessed a one-time administrative fee of up to $10.00 per incident. I assume this is to penalise abusive clients. They also state "To clear up any confusion regarding our CPU resource policy, we allow clients to burst up to 50% of their CPU allocation -- NO EXCEPTIONS." I understand this is to protect them, however I hope that there would be a degree of common sense applied to legitimate users. I hope, that like other providers they attempt to contact you before suspending a vps, rather than suspend first and ask questions later.

I've opened a couple of tickets since I've had the VPS, all have been answered quickly and to my satisfaction - so no complaints there.

Disk IO is lower than what I would expect for a typical VPS advertised as SSD cached. However, given the price point, allocated storage and my usage its more than acceptable in my opinion.

Overall I'm fairly happy with this service and would likely signup for a similar plan with them, however I'm not sure i would use it for a production site or anything I had to rely on - I would constantly be concerned that something might trigger their monitoring system and result in suspension / termination.

----- UPDATE ------

Whilst putting this review together I ran Serverbear to generate some stats. I know this can be fairly intensive on a node, but I can't think of a provider I'm currently with that its caused any significant issues with. Unfortunately it triggered GVH's monitoring system and my VPS was suspended for CPU abuse. They have since reinstated it, and in-fairness without the $10 fee - but this highlights just how easy it could be to have your vps suspended. I could understand if i had been running it 24x7 but this wasn't the case. It seems you only get one chance at being unsuspended for free and after that you must pay the $10 fee.

I'm not entirely happy with my experience of being suspended. I received no communication from them indicating I was using excessive CPU usage, likewise when they shutdown my vps and suspended it there was no email or ticket created by them. I left it an hour before contacting them, as i had wrongly assumed they were doing work on the node. It was only then that I was told that it had been suspended for CPU abuse. I think regardless of the reason for shutting down or suspending a vps, be it for this CPU abuse policy or any other violation of their ToS, then you should contact the customer / email / raise a ticket stating the reason.

I'm still on the fence on what I will do with this VPS, I can't have lots of down time and feel uncomfortable with always wondering if I'm using too much resources. They do claim to have a 45 day no questions asked refund policy, so I'll probably give it another week or so and decide then.

It is unfortunate that they are so stringent in terms of usage, else this would be a great plan and I probably would have ordered one in each of their locations.


Some stats for those interested in hard numbers:

ServerBear

freevps.us bench


[email protected]:~#  wget freevps.us/downloads/bench.sh -O - -o /dev/null|bash
CPU model :  Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1240 v3 @ 3.40GHz
Number of cores : 8
CPU frequency :  3392.093 MHz
Total amount of ram : 8144 MB
Total amount of swap : 0 MB
System uptime :   30 min,       
Download speed from CacheFly: 74.1MB/s 
Download speed from Coloat, Atlanta GA: 27.5MB/s 
Download speed from Softlayer, Dallas, TX: 10.7MB/s 
Download speed from Linode, Tokyo, JP: 7.22MB/s 
Download speed from i3d.net, Rotterdam, NL: 10.6MB/s
Download speed from Leaseweb, Haarlem, NL: 14.0MB/s 
Download speed from Softlayer, Singapore: 1.75MB/s 
Download speed from Softlayer, Seattle, WA: 17.1MB/s 
Download speed from Softlayer, San Jose, CA: 5.37MB/s 
Download speed from Softlayer, Washington, DC: 77.8MB/s 
I/O speed :  85.6 MB/s

Disk IO:


[email protected]:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync && rm -f test
16384+0 records in
16384+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 9.3857 s, 114 MB/s

Network


[email protected]:~# python speedtest_cli.py 
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Testing from ColoCrossing (192.3.142.235)...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by LayeredServer (Buffalo, NY) [16.56 km]: 9.378 ms
Testing download speed........................................
Download: 66.27 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed..................................................
Upload: 54.73 Mbit/s

«13

Comments

  • this place throws up red flags, left and right for me. i wouldn't touch them with a 10 foot pole.

    Thanked by 1Mark_R
  • This warning that they have sent shouldn't scare legit WEB hosting customers, but should repel abusers. I think this "mining" stuff has made a lot of damage to hosting companies and VPS users. Web hosting VPS should be used to host web sites and not make heavy calculations or etc.
    To be honest I was more concerned then NY4 node went down due to CPU abuse, but now I can hope for better uptime.

    https://www.fxtalk.eu Forex EAs forum. Free tick data downloads!

  • ZeroCoolZeroCool Member
    edited January 2014

    don't be suprise, becouse that big oversell package that is normal, if you need got stable and reliabel buy Xen, kvm or dedicated

  • @FXtalk said:
    I think this "mining" stuff has made a lot of damage to hosting companies and VPS users.

    Mining?

  • @HostNun said:
    Mining?

    Coin Mining, Bitcoin, Litecoin, Primecoin, Dogecoin (Haha), etc..

    No Bullcrap VPS Hosting
    McMyHost - http://mcmyhost.net

  • @prae5

    Thank You for the honest review! If you can submit a ticket and explain the circumstances of what you are using your VPS for, we'll be more than happy to make a consideration of whitelisting you from being issued unsuspension fees. However though unfortunately we can't whitelist you from being suspended for CPU abuse as it is the client's responsibility to be aware of and adhere to CPU usage policies. This goes the same for all other clients.

    We've just had too many people trying to use their virtual servers for CPU mining, malicious attack scripts, and a lot of other crap that no provider here really has any tolerance for. The unsuspension fees policy implementation is our way of putting our foot down against resource hogs and abusers.

  • @prae5 said:

    >

    & just few hours ago I had the sameeee concern at http://lowendtalk.com/discussion/19256/greenvaluehost-let-exclusive-new-years-sale-unbelievable-ssd-based-ovz-xen-offers-starting-1-m/p3

    A sword hanging over the head

    I am thinking of a refund.

    We are star-stuff. We are the Universe, made manifest, trying to figure itself out.

  • jnguyenjnguyen Member
    edited January 2014

    @raza19 - Ticket in please, I'll make sure you're whitelisted. I don't know how I can stress the point enough that the policy isn't in place to unfairly punish legitimate users.

  • @GreenValueHost, I'll open a ticket. To be clear I wasn't being critical of your policies - I do fully appreciate why you need them from your side - no one likes abusers, be it providers or other users on the node.

    I completely understand your harsh stance on this and the frustration that abusers can cause for you - its just frustrating that as a legitimate customer the actions of a few spoil it for the majority.

    As I mentioned, overall I am satisfied with the service and think it offers great value for the price.

  • hotsnowhotsnow Member
    edited January 2014

    @GreenValueHost said:
    raza19 - Ticket in please, I'll make sure you're whitelisted. I don't know how I can stress the >point enough that the policy isn't in place to unfairly punish legitimate users.

    how can get whitelisted?

    just as @raza19 said, "A sword hanging over the head", may accidentally go over the limit someday, although the probability is very very small, because only use the vps do some backups & websites

  • @hotsnow

    Please read my initial response to this thread which stated

    "If you can submit a ticket and explain the circumstances of what you are using your VPS for, we'll be more than happy to make a consideration of whitelisting you from being issued unsuspension fees. However though unfortunately we can't whitelist you from being suspended for CPU abuse as it is the client's responsibility to be aware of and adhere to CPU usage policies. This goes the same for all other clients."

    Thanked by 1lukesUbuntu
  • hotsnowhotsnow Member
    edited January 2014

    @GreenValueHost said:
    hotsnow

    Please read my initial response to this thread which stated

    need pre submit ticket now?

    or submit ticket only when (if) this suspension occurred?

    thanks.

  • For sure, i was getting a bit shock when i read about the unsuspenssion fee customer must take. I got suspended once a few days after i bought it. I didn't login yet after the service was delivered to me. So just open ticket and they said maybe was false alarm. And it got unsuspended, thanks to the services @GreenValueHost but still that policy seems very strictly to the customer. Just my oppinion maybe you can send email first before suspended it. You have automatically system that monitoring our usage, so it will trigger many false alarm about the cpu usage

    Thanked by 1Mark_R
  • @hotsnow - I would submit a ticket now.
    @iSky - We use NodeWatch which shut down your container temporarily and it was a false alarm by NodeWatch, and we deeply apologize. This doesn't count as a "suspension".

  • @GreenValueHost

    why is it cron entries cannot be run in intervals less then 5 minutes apart ?

  • I was suspended, they're saying I abused cpu, which I never touched due to "vps was down". Opened the ticket, and they said I'm abusing ticket system now. If anybody explains to me how I can abuse cpu when vps was not running?

  • darkshiredarkshire Member
    edited January 2014

    @MorningIris said:
    I was suspended, they're saying I abused cpu, which I never touched due to "vps was down". Opened the ticket, and they said I'm abusing ticket system now. If anybody explains to me how I can abuse cpu when vps was not running?

    hmm its interesting to me that they say, you are "abusing tickets"...
    i remember not long ago there was a user here, @Edo if i remember correctly where they claimed the same thing. at the time i was on @GreenValueHost side, but now... i realize that i have jumped to conclusions too quickly ! sorry @Edo !!

    edit: heres that post.
    http://lowendtalk.com/discussion/19282/a-customer-from-greenvaluehost/p1

    leave these GreenValue 'folks', thats my best advice ! ;)

    Thanked by 1Mark_R
  • Haha what a joke TOS..

    Thanked by 1darkshire
  • joepie91joepie91 Member, Provider

    @GreenValueHost Could you perhaps explain why you are saying that a user cannot use over 50% of their CPU allocation, rather than just halving their actual CPU allocation? This seems like a cheap deceptive marketing trick.

    Thanked by 1Dylan
  • @joepie91 said:
    GreenValueHost Could you perhaps explain why you are saying that a user cannot use over 50% of their CPU allocation, rather than just halving their actual CPU allocation? This seems like a cheap deceptive marketing trick.

    I was thinking about this and thought that I should offer something like this. 100GB of RAM and hide inside the TOS that you can only use 1-2% of it.

    No Bullcrap VPS Hosting
    McMyHost - http://mcmyhost.net

  • @GreenValueHost said:
    hotsnow - I would submit a ticket now.

    ticket sent, thanks...

  • JupiterJupiter Member
    edited January 2014

    GreenValueHost said: We've just had too many people trying to use their virtual servers for CPU mining, malicious attack scripts, and a lot of other crap that no provider here really has any tolerance for. The unsuspension fees policy implementation is our way of putting our foot down against resource hogs and abusers.

    But CPU can throttle without client even know the problem. Where is that 50% CPU usage theory coming from ...

    I am cancelling ...

  • joepie91 said: @GreenValueHost Could you perhaps explain why you are saying that a user cannot use over 50% of their CPU allocation, rather than just halving their actual CPU allocation? This seems like a cheap deceptive marketing trick.

    This -- are you literally saying that people can't ever use more than 50% of their CPU allocation? If so, what in the world is the point of having that allocation, then? Why not just half it for everyone?

  • I read another page from @Edo and this page, greenvaluehost please man up

  • have 2 vps from them, twice got suspended.

    I'm not interest anymore :D

  • @xphones why were your VPSes suspended?

    "Go cheap on rarely used things"

  • @mcmyhost said:
    Coin Mining, Bitcoin, Litecoin, Primecoin, Dogecoin (Haha), etc..

  • Is that drMike? :P

    Thanked by 1k0nsl

    Happy to be alive and kicking!

  • If we did not have CPU usage policies, we would have deadpooled a very long time ago.

    Thanked by 1vRozenSch00n
  • GreenValueHost said: If we did not have CPU usage policies, we would have deadpooled a very long time ago.

    It's survival thing. :)

    Happy to be alive and kicking!

  • DroidzoneDroidzone Member
    edited January 2014

    @GreenValueHost said:
    If we did not have CPU usage policies, we would have deadpooled a very long time ago.

    Everyone has CPU anti-abuse policies. However the policies by reputable hosts like Prometeus, Ramnode, INIZ, DotVPS, BlueVM, Weloveservers, Cloudshards, Servermania, MyRSK, Raidlogic, Fliphost aren't restrictive, and don't interfere with the normal use of a VPS.

    Maybe what you meant was that you need these restrictions to "overtly oversell" resources, in contrast to other hosts who employ judicious allocations.

    C, Bash, Perl, Python, PHP, and JS hobbyist. VPS collector. Blog

  • lowendtalk should ban any host that oversell to much -unsuspension fee is a ridiculous, please find another alternative to overcome your "oversell" -

    what i do
    -sleep

  • VirtovoVirtovo Member
    edited January 2014

    @GreenValueHost said:
    If we did not have CPU usage policies, we would have deadpooled a very long time ago.

    Edited:

    Agreed and I think as a business you do need some policy on CPU usage. I do agree however with others that if the hard limit is 50% or above (not burst for x amount of time etc) then maybe you should just consider halving your CPU allocation as although it does state in your terms:

    Users may not: Use 50% or more of CPU resources for longer then 60 seconds (Applies to Virtual Servers ONLY)

    That's quite an unusual and overly restrictive term. Or possibly make it clear in the offer.

    This really is to save you as much hassle as your clients.

    Thanked by 1Dylan
  • PatrickPatrick Member
    edited January 2014

    If you don't agree with a companies policy then don't sign up but then again people agree to them at sign up without even reading them and then get bit and moan.

    Thanked by 1ironhide
    Patrick | INIZ
  • @mentari said:
    lowendtalk should ban any host that oversell to much -unsuspension fee is a ridiculous, please find another alternative to overcome your "oversell" -

    The unsuspension fee is not rediculous. Think of it as shifting some of the cost to abusers. @GreenValueHost already made it clear that they will waive the fee if it wasn't intentional or actually abusive. I'm glad they have this policy as it should cut down on blatant abuse.

    That said, I don't necessarily agree with the max CPU policy as stated, "we allow clients to burst up to 50% of their CPU allocation -- NO EXCEPTIONS." There's no point in allocating say 4 CPUs to the container if you're going to suspend it when it bursts slightly over 2. Containers should be able to burst to 100% of their CPUs for a (very) short period of time without having to worry about suspension. If bursting over half your CPU allocation would lead to immediate suspension, then only half should be assigned to the container to prevent that situation.

  • a very large amount of CPU abuse incidents . . . resulting in our systems administrators needing to spend lengthy shifts tracking down and suspending resource hogs

    It almost seems like 'entrapment' to oversell a server to the point where overcrowding makes an influx of 'abusive' CPU usage inevitable for a large majority of people--who would not have been considered resource hogs on a less oversold server--and then to exploit that inevitability with a $10 re-activation fee... or do I have that wrong?

    (Disclaimer: I don't have a VPS with GVH so the above isn't said with any certainty).

    Thanked by 1Dylan
  • @INIZ said:
    If you don't agree with a companies policy then don't sign up but then again people agree to them at sign up without even reading them and then get bit and moan.

    The said policies were dramatically changed in a day few days after sign up. Additionally I have made use of their following policy and asked for a refund.

    "if at ANY TIME within 45 days you are unsatisfied with our hosting services for ANY reason, simply just request for your money back! No questions asked"

    The service that was committed at signup is not the service that is being provided now.

    We are star-stuff. We are the Universe, made manifest, trying to figure itself out.

  • @petris said:
    That said, I don't necessarily agree with the max CPU policy as stated, "we allow clients to burst up to 50% of their CPU allocation -- NO EXCEPTIONS." There's no point in allocating say 4 CPUs to the container if you're going to suspend it when it bursts slightly over 2. Containers should be able to burst to 100% of their CPUs for a (very) short period of time without having to worry about suspension. If bursting over half your CPU allocation would lead to immediate suspension, then only half should be assigned to the container to prevent that situation.

    If anyone here wishes to make 100% sure that they do not get suspended for CPU abuse, they are more than welcome to ticket in and request for us to cut their CPU allocation in half. And yes, if you're a legitimate user, the unsuspension fee would be waived. Once again, legitimate clients shouldn't be afraid of our abuse policies. They're not aimed towards harming legitimate clients.

  • chrispchrisp Member
    edited January 2014

    Why are you not suspending people by hand? I would have been so pissed if my vps got suspended "by accident" by your monitoring. Glad I already canceled. Is it so hard to make this script send a notification to you to check manually how long resources have been maxed? I just imagine my vps getting canceled while extracting some databases and then zipping (with high compression level -> CPU abuse!!!) them to back them up and while doing this it gets canceled :(

    Also, don't you see any other way of fighting cpu abuse? For example you could limit the cpu share after 60s using 100% automatically and then delimit it again after 20 minutes or something, but really suspending a vps after only 60 seconds using the cpu is SO ridiculous. Really the more I think about it the more I feel this is a cheap trick to make some extra money.

  • I opened another ticket asking suspension, their answer, I'm abusing their ticket....

  • @MorningIris said:
    I opened another ticket asking suspension, their answer, I'm abusing their ticket....

    For real? LoL if so, back up and move to another better provider

  • MorningIris said: I opened another ticket asking suspension, their answer, I'm abusing their ticket....

    ROFLMAO!!!!

  • Maybe provider thought that people buys VPS to host their Static Files and Personal Albums only! So that CPU can never go beyond 50% for 60 seconds!!!

    There are many providers who are smartly dealing with this issue, some of them throttle the CPU down, some uses smart alerts.

    But come on, A suspension after 60 seconds of 50% CPU is just so 1990! :P

  • @INIZ at first time or before we sign up, we did read all about the ToS and AUP however the fee for unsuspenssion just bring up a week after we sign for that

  • raza19raza19 Member
    edited January 2014

    check this out :)

    My First and Only ticket at greenvaluehost today 01/07/2014

    Please cancel this plan and refund me the amount according to your statement:

    >

    "if at ANY TIME within 45 days you are unsatisfied with our hosting services for ANY reason, > simply just request for your money back! No questions asked"

    >

    at:

    >

    Their reply

    From Stephen Phillips || 01/07/2014 02:56

    >

    Hello,

    >

    Thank you for contacting us, I will forward this ticket to one of our Billing agents, they will follow up as soon as possible, Thank you for your patience in advance!

    >

    Kind Regards,

    >

    Stephen Phillips

    >

    Technical Support Engineer

    The Next Msg they sent :)

    From Jonathan Nguyen || Staff || 8 hours later
    Hello,

    Please don't abuse our helpdesk. We have policies against the following:

    1. Treating a single ticket as a universal helpdesk ticket

    >

    1. Submitting several tickets regarding a single issue/incident

    >

    1. Submitting tickets intentionally into the incorrect department to confuse/cause troubles to GreenValueHost staff

    >

    As per our Terms of Service (http://www.greenvaluehost.com/tos.html), the following helpdesk abuse consequences can be given to clients at the discretion of GreenValueHost management:

    >
    >

    1. One-time payment fine of $5.00 per ticket violating helpdesk abuse policies

    >

    1. Permanent or temporary revocation of client's 24/7 support/10-minute average response time eligibility

    >

    1. Termination (in cases of 3 or more intentional (as determined by GreenValueHost staff) helpdesk abuse incidents within a 1 month period)

    >

    As of now, this automatic-generated message serves as your official warning for helpdesk abuse. Please take note of this and refrain from abusing our helpdesk again in the future.

    >

    Best Regards,

    Jonathan Nguyen
    President of Operations
    GreenValueHost Management_

    So are you now trying to pull your way out of paying the promised refund @GreenValueHost ?

    We are star-stuff. We are the Universe, made manifest, trying to figure itself out.

  • painfreepcpainfreepc Member
    edited January 2014

    from GreenValueHost TOS

    Refund Policy

    If you are not satisfied with our services, you may choose to contact our support department or administration in which they will attempt at their best effort to correct any situation(s) you may have. If the problem still cannot be fixed, you may be eligible to a refund within 45 days of your original purchase.

    your ad says:

    BEFORE YOU ORDER, please note that ALL of these plans come with our NO-HASSLE 45-Day MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. If at ANY TIME within 45 days you are unsatisfied with our hosting services for ANY reason, simply just request for your money back! No questions asked.


    This is why you need to read TOS and not go by what the ad says..

    i use BTSync a lot, so i always ask if it's ok

  • raza19 said: check this out :)

    I think it's simple Math. If you are suspended for 45 days from helpdesk, you cannot ask for a refund either way :P

    LOL!

    Thanked by 2darkshire raza19
  • Please don't abuse our helpdesk. We have policies against the following:
    
       2.  Submitting several tickets regarding a single issue/incident
    

    Note no time limit given as to when you can re send a ticket,

    So if they never response, you are SOL

    Thanked by 3iSky darkshire raza19
  • @painfreepc said:
    Please don't abuse our helpdesk. We have policies against the following:

    2. Submitting several tickets regarding a single issue/incident

    Note no time limit given as to when you can re send a ticket,

    So if they never response, you are SOL

    yup its a catch-22 :)

    We are star-stuff. We are the Universe, made manifest, trying to figure itself out.

  • @painfreepc said:
    Please don't abuse our helpdesk. We have policies against the following:

    2. Submitting several tickets regarding a single issue/incident

    Note no time limit given as to when you can re send a ticket,

    So if they never response, you are SOL

    then if they never response = we got no refund or unsuspension and the uptime wasn't like 99% again :)

Sign In or Register to comment.