Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Custom ISO (Arch Linux) on RackNerd VPS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Custom ISO (Arch Linux) on RackNerd VPS

edited October 2021 in General

I've been using RackNerd's VPS for several months, which is satisfying enough
considering its attractive price and stable hardware. Nothing to complain about,
really.

It's hoped, however, that the VPS runs my preferred Linux flavour. The
default OSes (variants of RedHat or Debian) are certainly good enough for most
people in most scenarios, but there are 2 reasons which make Arch Linux my
preference:
1. Bleeding-edge softwares
We can't tell great differences between one software from the one months
before, especially for those with CLI only. Nevertheless, some softwares I need
to use are in highly improvement, and their version in Debian's repository is
more than one year behind, which I consider as too "stable".
2. Personal familiarity
I've used Arch Linux for several years, and what still impresses me are it's
minimalism and clear, detailed wiki. On the other hand, I always need to consult
the Pacman Rosetta to use apt or yum package manager.

Days ago, I came across a thread in this forum, that RackNerd's VPS supports
custom iso (Windows is of course excluded), so I tried to open a ticket,
asking a technician if it's possible, and luckily the reply is positive. Since
there are no options in the control panel, we need to provide the name and
download link of the iso, which the technician in RackNerd mounted manually.
And after changing the boot order to cdrom first, rebooting the original system,
we could happily start the installation.

Something to notice:
1. RackNerd doesn't support VM image.
Although Arch Linux offers VM image, which