Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VMware vs KVM? Which one is better?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Question in the title. İ always used KVM vps. But today i got an offer with VMware. İt's really good price. But i have no experience with VMware.

Which one is better? What are your experience with them?

1. VMware vs KVM? Which one is better?94 votes
    1. Vmware
      31.91%
    2. Kvm
      68.09%

Comments

• I tried Qemu/KVM a few hours ago. This is a great timing for your question LOL. I wanted to see some feedback too.

I was using VirtualBox, but couldn't make folder sharing work. So I tried VMware. Didn't setup shared folder, but their drag-n-drop worked flawlessly even for a big file.

Then I saw people were talking about Qemy/KVM on Reddit over the new Linux kernel post.

Took me a few hours to be satisfied. I probably will be using Qemu/KVM for now, until I got any reason to move back to VMware or VirtualBox.

• AlwaysSkintAlwaysSkint Member
    edited August 2020

Personally, I like vmware better (dunno why just do) but it all comes down to implementation. Also, I haven't come across a vmware provider that allows a console for the VPS, which is virtually (geddit?) defacto standard for KVM.

• I personally prefer KVM over VMWare. Have you considered trying it out and seeing which you like better personally? :)

• Whichever one which lets you download additional cores.

Thanked by 1AlwaysSkint
  • I heard that full virtualization could compress ram and CPU.. It was great invention..

• @SlingHost said:
    I personally prefer KVM over VMWare. Have you considered trying it out and seeing which you like better personally? :)