Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Want an IPv6 block that I can use on AWS BYOIP
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Want an IPv6 block that I can use on AWS BYOIP

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit new to all this, but really interested in networking. I want to get my own ipv6 block and announce it on aws. Want to use aws because they're the only provider close enough to me. ( gonna use it as a ipv6 tunnel for my home internet connection )

https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/ec2-byoip.html
they mention only the following type is supported:
RIPE - "ALLOCATED PA", "LEGACY", and "ASSIGNED PI" allocation statuses

So what does that mean do I need a PA or a PI IPv6.

Can anyone help me out with this?

Thanks,
Brenden

Comments

• FHRFHR Member, Host Rep

We can help with RIPE.

Note that these types of allocation are for v4, IPv6 differentiates between "ALLOCATED BY LIR" and "ALLOCATED BY RIR". We can help with "ALLOCATED BY LIR" and "ASSIGNED PI".

Thanked by 1BrendenCA
  • AlefAlef Member

Have you looked at AWS Bandwidth pricing? It's crazy at $0.09/GB outbound to the internet at most locations.

Thanked by 2maverickp rm_
  • dfroedfroe Member, Host Rep

For IP (and ASN) registrations, most likely all active LIRs here on LET will gladly help you - including me. :)

You can also announce your own IPv6 subnet via free HE TunnelBroker service or any other BGP-capable VPS. bgp.services can give you an overview about available providers.

• @dfroe said:
    For IP (and ASN) registrations, most likely all active LIRs here on LET will gladly help you - including me. :)