Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Canada Emergency Response Benefit
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Canada Emergency Response Benefit

Hello folks,

I hope you all staying and keeping safe individually and your loved ones too,
I am a student here, and I have a confusion about CERB, please guide me if you have the information.

link: https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/ei/cerb-application.html

the only question I have is, what amount I have to pay back to the government since it says taxable? please advise me

Thank you.

Comments

• FlamesRunnerFlamesRunner Member
    edited April 2020

Oh, the CERB. Don't consider this legal advice as (just a warning) -- but here's how it works in a nutshell:

• You have lost your job due to COVID-19 related reasons where you have not resigned
    • You are 15 or older, and made at least $5,000 within the last year

Then, you may qualify for a $500/week payment for 16 weeks.

The tax implications are usual -- this counts as income, so depending on your current revenue, the amount of tax could vary from a small amount to quite a bit. It really depends.

• @FlamesRunner said:
    Oh, the CERB. Don't consider this legal advice as (just a warning) -- but here's how it works in a nutshell:

• You have lost your job due to COVID-19 related reasons where you have not resigned
    • You are 15 or older, and made at least $5,000 within the last year

Then, you may qualify for a $500/week payment for 16 weeks.

The tax implications are usual -- this counts as income, so depending on your current revenue, the amount of tax could vary from a small amount to quite a bit. It really depends.