Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Which is the better one?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Which is the better one?

I was recently migrated from an OpenVZ container to a KVM. However I noticed I am on a slower machine now, but with more cores. Was this a fair trade? Just wondering if I am still getting close enough in performance. Seems to be fine... but I'm not an expert on VPS's.

Comments

• hzrhzr Member

ANY kvm is better than ovz.

• It depends a lot on what you are doing with it. A surprising number of tasks are single threaded, so it changes in how helpful it is for sure

• The more things you do with it, the better the KVM is. Also, KVM just has way less limitations. openvz has nonstop kernel and firewall limitations and CSF firewall just announced they'll no longer support Openvz/Virtuozzo. Openvz just gets more useless and limited each day.

Have several useless idling openvz's waiting for migration to Openvz7 but taking for ages on one provider and delayed until next year for another. sigh I think some Openvz providers haven't factored in how much long term business they'll lose running shitty openvz6 this long while slowly losing customers to other providers running KVM.

Thanked by 1niceboy
  • Never new that csf is stopping openvz support.

Just stopped csf auto updates on few of my openvz boxes. thanks.

Thanked by 1TimboJones
  • KVM is better in many ways. In terms of specs the CPU is slower, but you have 4 cores on the KVM box vs 2 on the OVZ one. Unless what you're running is single threaded, you'll benefit in the long run.

• PulsedMediaPulsedMedia Member, Patron Provider
    edited March 2020