Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Password Manager Suggestions - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Password Manager Suggestions

Comments

• emgemg Veteran

I am still using a local copy of 1Password on my Mac. I have been using 1Password for many years, long before their push to the subscription model a few years ago, which does not interest me. They make it challenging to buy the standalone version, but you can find it if you are persistent.

I use the Mac for all passwords, which are stored locally only. I do not use my phone for any secure remote access. Home media devices store the passwords they need for streaming services, manually entered. That's it.

I follow "old school" practices when it comes to security. I do not sync passwords through the cloud.

Think strategically. You are storing every key to your kingdom in a public place. Sure, it is encrypted, but do you really trust that your password data will stay safe and secure over the long term, years or perhaps decades from now? Keep in mind that the bad guys can save copies of your old password files, the ones that may be vulnerable to a new exploit in the future. The crypto does not have to fail. It might, but more likely someone will find a silly implementation bug.

Sync'ing is convenient, but the added convenience is not worth the long term risk, in my opinion. I get by just fine with old school technology.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

jsg said: Can it really be "cleared" from RAM afterwards?

But then, can it be cleared from the RAM the browser uses for that matter?

Or the keyboard device driver buffer?

Whether you type it or copy/paste it, it's going in RAM somehow...

Thanked by 1SpryServers_Tab
  • @Nyr said:

@maddy said: