Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Gauging interest lowend box with GPU
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Gauging interest lowend box with GPU

vetvettervetvetter Member
edited January 2020 in General

Hi while I know at this point I'm not a provider. I'm curious to see how many people would be interested in a lowendish box with an actual GPU in it?

If that is of interest I may put together a project to get this going for everyone. Feel free to reply back or pm me if your interested.

These would be dedicated boxes at least to start.

Interested in thoughts....

Comments

• Meh. If I need to use GPUs for compute, I'll typically just spin up an AWS GPU instance on the starting $0.5x/hr plan.

• FlamesRunner said: starting $0.5x/hr plan.

Yup, same here. I usually use Spot instances as well so that cuts the cost down to around $0.16/hour. If you can beat this @vetvetter then go for it :P

• Location? Specs? Price? Wishosting offers a hybrid RX480 (4 cores / 4GB / 1TB / 100 Mbps) in Netherlands for $34.99/mo. Cannot find the NVidia one at the moment.

• Thanks for the responses so far! I'm in Cleveland OH so for a project like this I'd probably like to keep it local so I can keep an eye on it to start. Good news is there are not any providers here that I know of here out of CLE and good few fiber providers use CLE is a junction point for some of the west from what I was told.

If I do it I'll likely offer rx470 - rx580 and maybe some vega cards to start. Possibly getting into some nvidia if its successful.