Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
(First Attempt) Install Windows 2008 R on online.net Corei3/4GB Ram/2 TB using Rescue System and QEM
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

(First Attempt) Install Windows 2008 R on online.net Corei3/4GB Ram/2 TB using Rescue System and QEM

edited December 2019 in Help

(First Attempt) Install Windows 2008 R on online.net Corei3/4GB Ram/2 TB using Rescue System and QEMU-KVM

Recently i got server from oneprovider and my goal is installation of windows on it.So i am trying various method to achieve this goal
few days ago i asked question here but no satisfy answer so i am applying other method from
https://danpros.com/2017/09/install-windows-on-any-server-using-rescue-system-and-qemu-kvm

Is this possible to install Windows using the rescue system? The short answer is Yes.
i reboot my system in rescue mode and got login password info

using sudo -i to become root user

1: Step Formatting hard drive
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M count=1

2: Step
In above guide there is 2 method for store ISO in server
1 method is store ISO in RAM , unfortunate this server have only 4 GB !!!! so RAM method failed here
2nd method is store ISO in 2nd drive , Luckily i have 2nd drive.

windows 2008 R2 ISO link
https://microsoft.com/en-eg/download/details.aspx?id=11093
https://download.microsoft.com/download/7/5/E/75EC4E54-5B02-42D6-8879-D8D3A25FBEF7/7601.17514.101119-1850_x64fre_server_eval_en-us-GRMSXEVAL_EN_DVD.iso

Download the ISO to /mnt folder:
wget -P /mnt https://download.microsoft.com/download/7/5/E/75EC4E54-5B02-42D6-8879-D8D3A25FBEF7/7601.17514.101119-1850_x64fre_server_eval_en-us-GRMSXEVAL_EN_DVD.iso

3: Step
Download and extract the portable qemu-kvm. /tmp folder is enough for this portable qemu-kvm.

wget -qO- /tmp http://www.danpros.com/content/files/vkvm.tar.gz | tar xvz -C /tmp

Excute the qemu-kvm.

/tmp/qemu-system-x86_64 -net nic -net user,hostfwd=tcp::3389-:3389 -m 2048M -localtime -enable-kvm -cpu host,+nx -M pc -smp 2 -vga std -usbdevice tablet -k en-us -cdrom /mnt/7601.17514.101119-1850_x64fre_server_eval_en-us-GRMSXEVAL_EN_DVD.iso -hda /dev/sda -boot once=d -vnc :1

Open the VNC viewer and visit your IP:1 to starting the installations.

Hope of new ..................

but miserably failed no idea what to do , what the reason

Installing windows on server is my obsession now . will continue until i succeed.........

Comments

  • I think you have to rebuild the Windows ISO with VirtIO drivers included.

    https://linux-kvm.org/page/WindowsGuestDrivers/Download_Drivers

    Thanked by 1dell9020haswell
  • Neat, what do you use this machine for? I tried Windows 10 on vultr but the browser scroll up and down seems lagging. Can your try internet browser after successful install?

  • i failed on last step no successful installation

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    If they allow it use iPXE and boot with netboot. https://netboot.xyz/

    Build the ISO with the VirtIO drivers, unpackage it onto a live server and install from that. Pretty prem to be honest.

    Thanked by 1cu_olly

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • Jord said: If they allow it use iPXE and boot with netboot. https://netboot.xyz/

    This looks like an awesome little tool! Haven't come across it before, but definitely worth some experimentation.

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @cu_olly said:

    Jord said: If they allow it use iPXE and boot with netboot. https://netboot.xyz/

    This looks like an awesome little tool! Haven't come across it before, but definitely worth some experimentation.

    It's prem, I use it where ever I can to be honest. Even when deploying a Colo server is use it. I was going to use Foreman for the job. But decided that is too clunky. So will continue to use netboot.

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • I tried the Joodle windows template to install but no succes after rebooting the server in normal mode.

    Thanked by 1dell9020haswell
  • edited December 2019

    yes joodle windows templates not work as expected that why i am trying to install windows server my self......why i am sure it is possible because in past i hired someone who ask me $20 for this installation. Unfortunately i have missed his contact and 2nd thing is i have no money in paypal.

  • Too much work. Better grab one of these 8-core Avotons C2750 with Supermicro board (the old one with 8 GB RAM and 160 GB SSD or 1 TB HDD), they got normal KVM and you can install whatever you want.

    You can get them here for 12 EUR: https://oneprovider.com/dedicated-servers/paris-france or here https://console.online.net/en/order/server/2

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @dell9020haswell said:
    yes joodle windows templates not work as expected that why i am trying to install windows server my self......why i am sure it is possible because in past i hired someone who ask me $20 for this installation. Unfortunately i have missed his contact and 2nd thing is i have no money in paypal.

    True booting via iPXE and using netboot.xyz, very good. You will need to unpack the Windows ISO somewhere though, but once you have it works pretty good. I have installed a few Windows dedis that way.

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • @Spacedust said:
    Too much work. Better grab one of these 8-core Avotons C2750 with Supermicro board (the old one with 8 GB RAM and 160 GB SSD or 1 TB HDD), they got normal KVM and you can install whatever you want.

    You can get them here for 12 EUR: https://oneprovider.com/dedicated-servers/paris-france or here https://console.online.net/en/order/server/2

    I have KVM/IDRAC 6 but unable to mount ISO image.............

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @dell9020haswell you should be able to mount the ISO via iDRAC.

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • @Jord said:
    @dell9020haswell you should be able to mount the ISO via iDRAC.

    but it pick iso from my pc .. i have poor upload speed

  • You can just spin up an hourly Vultr or Hetzner instance and do the installation from there.

    Thanked by 1Hetzner_OL
  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @dell9020haswell said:

    @Jord said:
    @dell9020haswell you should be able to mount the ISO via iDRAC.

    but it pick iso from my pc .. i have poor upload speed

    Like @saibal said, spin up a vm at hetzner and upload the ISO via that. You have a 10Gbit connection then.

    Thanked by 2saibal Hetzner_OL

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • @saibal said:
    You can just spin up an hourly Vultr or Hetzner instance and do the installation from there.

    You telling me interesting point but consider me NOOB . I will very happy if you elaborate it btw i getting this point it is like hosting ISO there ............

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    Well you could spin up a windows machine there and then connect to iDRAC that way. Upload the ISO to iDRAC and away you go.

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • well it is possible if i have another online.net server (linux installed).............

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @dell9020haswell said:
    well it is possible if i have another online.net server (linux installed).............

    Are you able to use iDRAC on that linux server?

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • @Jord said:

    @dell9020haswell said:
    well it is possible if i have another online.net server (linux installed).............

    Are you able to use iDRAC on that linux server?

    no other server have IPMI

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @dell9020haswell said:

    @Jord said:

    @dell9020haswell said:
    well it is possible if i have another online.net server (linux installed).............

    Are you able to use iDRAC on that linux server?

    no other server have IPMI

    I meant do you have a desktop enabled on that linux server?

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • edited December 2019

    No , Now i got it..........how much dump i am , thanks i got point now
    well if there is any other method like qemu .............

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    Well as I see it you have three ways of doing it.

    1) using netboot.xyz and uploading the unpacked ISO somewhere.
    2) spin up a vm at hetzner with Windows and then login via iDRAC there and install the ISO that way.
    3) install Windows via onlines image they should have one I'm guessing

    Thanked by 1dell9020haswell

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • 1) i have no idea will online.net accept
    2) i am considering this option now i am gathering information about this option find vm at hetzner that support windows
    3) already joodle images miserably failed

  • edited December 2019

    Double comment please delete this post .....

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    Doesn't online.net have their own windows image you can use to install it?

    Thanked by 1dell9020haswell

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • @Jord said:
    Doesn't online.net have their own windows image you can use to install it?

    well i have no idea about i am using online.net server via oneprovider...Thanks a lot for you , You give me hint how i can do this . Well i will update progress

  • JordJord Moderator, Provider

    @dell9020haswell said:

    @Jord said:
    Doesn't online.net have their own windows image you can use to install it?

    well i have no idea about i am using online.net server via oneprovider...Thanks a lot for you , You give me hint how i can do this . Well i will update progress

    No problem :)

    BaseServ Ltd - UK Shared DirectAdmin Hosting | Litespeed + Cloudlinux + Free Backups + Free Transfers.
    BaseServ Certified to ISO/IEC 27001:2013

  • in the same boat but i can install it and its dosnt boot up.. even after install the drivers with pnputls any though ??

Sign In or Register to comment.