Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

IPv6: Too big for routing tables?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

IPv6: Too big for routing tables?

KaulkwappeKaulkwappe Member, LIR

I've been working with a datacenter for many years now. They have been always great, it really makes fun to work with them because they're very fast and the performance always has been stable over the years.

But there is one thing where they might not be so great: IPv6.

I have to say that I'm not so familiar with network or routing things at all because I am more a software developer. A few days ago I've asked them to announce a big IPv6 subnet and route a /48 into my VLAN so I can use the /64s from it on my dedicated root servers. They said something like that: No, they cannot do that because IPv6 has so many IPs and that would cause a high overhead. They are only able to route /64s and if I want to use larger subnets like /56s or /48s they only can provide me that over Next Hop Routing.

So my questions are:

a) Is that plausible? Do they possibly use too old hardware which is simply not able to handle IPv6 in an efficient way? But why are they able then to route IPv6 which already has an extreme amount of single IP addresses?

b) If they do Next Hop Routing for different /48 with different targets, can I handle this directly over my dedicated servers which would be the target, or do I necessarily need a router (e.g. a server with pfSense)? I want to avoid unnecessary overhead.

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• jsgjsg Member, Resident Benchmarker