Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Potential Nextcloud Setup
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Potential Nextcloud Setup

I'm trying to replace Google Drive. I need to backup a sizable amount of data (being generous, it comes to about 100GB) while also doing tasks like writing documents, etc.

Would it make sense to buy a reseller cPanel account (as they are really cheap storage-wise) and allocate all the resources to just one instance, and set up Nextcloud on it? Then, get a cheap KVM machine that only runs an onlyoffice server and link the two together?

I'm very new to the game. Thanks, all!

Comments

• emghemgh Member

Please note that many shared companies don't allow for files not related directly to the website to be hosted.

• donlidonli Member
    edited June 2019

Cpanel accounts are usually "really cheap storage-wise" because they specifically exclude you from using the accounts for things like storage.

Get a cheap NAT storage VPS ( < $20/year/100GB) you can run Nextcloud on.

• BopieBopie Member

As mentioned above most reseller packages well exclude the use of file storage specifically, there is much cheaper options out there for what you need, I mean if you can include a budget you have then I'm sire we can find you some good deals :)

• akhfaakhfa Member

Use SSD vps

Or use small SSD disk with seafile and s3 compatible storage

• zboununynofkjzboununynofkj Member
    edited June 2019

My budget is about $20-40 a year. I'm looking for about 150GB of storage. I don't know how realistic that is, though.

Thanks everyone for telling me about those requirements (and especially that my idea isn't exactly allowed, oops). I'll look into a NAT storage VPS. If you all would help me out, I'd appriciate it :smile: