Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In defense of deadpool VPS providers
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

In defense of deadpool VPS providers

Noob here, only a few LEB boxes for projects, so my opinion may not carry much weight. I've had 3 boxes from the lowenddeadpool.info list. Two have locked up solid and couldn't be reinstalled.

Names... Okay. Umax was my first death. One attempt at a support ticket and I gave up and cancelled the account. Don't be stupid like me.

Next death was N3. They actually came clean with me and told me they were having "resource problems". So look, when the provider is being straight with you, don't be a dick to them! I told them for $15/year, we expect overselling and that these things happen. And you know what? They moved my VM and got me going again. Just because someone is on the deadpool list doesn't mean they're evil. So yah, I'm happy with N3.

My best theory about why this happens comes from thinking... what would I do if I was (over)selling VMs? I'd start stacking up the VMs on a server and watch how the loading went over a few weeks. When it was full-ish, I'd start loading up the next server. Now imagine one of the clowns on that first server decided he suddenly wanted to install a bunch of stuff. Boom, disk full.

So, my suggestion is: When you get a new box, install everything immediately and use up as much disk as you're planning on using. Or set up a file-based file system to reserve the space you know you'll need in the future. This will help the provider get the right number of clients on their server.