Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
AlphaVPS - Quick Review
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

AlphaVPS - Quick Review

SkanderSkander Member
edited December 2018 in Reviews

Introduction
I got a 2G VPS (OVZ) from AlphaVPS for 15EUR/year. The setup was instantaneous and no issues were observed when the VPS was provisioned. They use SolusVM.
I do not intend to use this VPS for much other than a personal OpenVPN and serving an HTML portal and a small database.

Benchmark:
The node performance was excellent.
Network speeds, disk speeds, and CPU performance were all above average and quite satisfactory as seen from the serverscope benchmark below: https://serverscope.io/trials/rMkN

Download:

Downloaded 104857600 bytes in 1.208 sec
Downloaded 104857600 bytes in 1.238 sec
Downloaded 104857600 bytes in 1.238 sec
Downloaded 104857600 bytes in 1.353 sec
Downloaded 104857600 bytes in 1.341 sec
Finished! Average download speed is 627.16 Mbit/s

Upload:

Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Testing from TerraTransit AG ...
Selecting 15 servers that are not too close:
  1. Heuer & Sack GbR (Wernigerode) [107.53 km]: 24.066 ms
  2. KNT Internet (Riethnordhausen) [107.87 km]: 15.923 ms
  3. Newone (Ilmenau) [120.64 km]: 37.381 ms
  4. Thueringer Netkom GmbH (Weimar) [132.12 km]: 13.807 ms
  5. LeaseWeb (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 13.787 ms
  6. Interoute VDC (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 11.361 ms
  7. DEAC (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 16.816 ms
  8. Vodafone DE (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 9.634 ms
  9. fdcservers.net (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 48.776 ms
  10. 23media GmbH (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 15.635 ms
  11. meerfarbig GmbH & Co. KG (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 20.258 ms
  12. Vodafone Kabel Deutschland (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 10.606 ms
  13. synch.cc (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 27.02 ms
  14. MK Netzdienste (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 18.726 ms
  15. ITprosteer (Frankfurt) [143.90 km]: 17.494 ms
Testing upload speeds
  1. Heuer & Sack GbR (Wernigerode):              ......................... 156.51 Mbit/s
  2. KNT Internet (Riethnordhausen):              ......................... 344.45 Mbit/s
  3. Newone (Ilmenau):                            ......................... 184.19 Mbit/s
  4. Thueringer Netkom GmbH (Weimar):             ......................... 102.81 Mbit/s
  5. LeaseWeb (Frankfurt):                        ......................... 343.94 Mbit/s
  6. Interoute VDC (Frankfurt):                   ......................... 436.46 Mbit/s
  7. DEAC (Frankfurt):                            ......................... 293.17 Mbit/s
  8. Vodafone DE (Frankfurt):                     ......................... 248.82 Mbit/s
  9. fdcservers.net (Frankfurt):                  ......................... 358.60 Mbit/s
  10. 23media GmbH (Frankfurt):                   ......................... 493.99 Mbit/s
  11. meerfarbig GmbH & Co. KG (Frankfurt):       ......................... 220.91 Mbit/s
  12. Vodafone Kabel Deutschland (Frankfurt):     ......................... 398.78 Mbit/s
  13. synch.cc (Frankfurt):                       ......................... 401.15 Mbit/s
  14. MK Netzdienste (Frankfurt):                 ......................... 130.65 Mbit/s
  15. ITprosteer (Frankfurt):                     ......................... 320.51 Mbit/s

Average upload: 337.08 Mbit/s

Disk Performance

-dd

dd if=/dev/zero of=benchmark bs=64K count=32K conv=fdatasync
32768+0 records in
32768+0 records out
2147483648 bytes (2.1 GB, 2.0 GiB) copied, 18.2508 s, **118 MB/s**


dd if=/dev/zero of=benchmark bs=1M count=2048 conv=fdatasync
2048+0 records in
2048+0 records out
2147483648 bytes (2.1 GB, 2.0 GiB) copied, 16.2601 s, **132 MB/s**

-FIO random read

Performance: 295.01 MB/s
IOPS: 75522

-FIO random direct read

Performance: 2534.8 MB/s
IOPS: 648886

-FIO random write

Performance: 1089.3 MB/s
IOPS: 278789

-FIO random direct write

Performance: 531.77 MB/s
IOPS: 136133

CPU Performance

Processor:    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1275 v5 @ 3.60GHz
Kernel:       Linux 2.6.32-042stab134.3 x86_64

CPU: SHA256-hashing 500 MB
    3.972 seconds
CPU: bzip2-compressing 500 MB
    6.833 seconds
CPU: AES-encrypting 500 MB
    1.228 seconds

Summary:

Disk Read: 295 MB/s
Disk Write: 1089 MB/s
Bandwidth: 627.16 Mbit/s
Speedtest: 337.08 Mbit/s

Closing Remarks:

Excellent value and performance. Keep in mind that I only had this VPS for a limited amount of time and I have had no experience with the support staff so far aside from interactions here with @AlexBarakov. I'm still going to recommend them with confidence, however.
PS: They seem to be planning ahead for an OVZ 7 upgrade, but meanwhile, no docker support because of the old kernel. You may want to go for one of their KVM plans in that case.

Thanked by 1FrankZ

Providers I can recommend: BuyVM - AlphaVPS - MXRoute

Comments

  • Well, the match lastin' about up until the particular inaccuracy, particular unusually, that should be the ultimate determining factor in about the 12 round experience, heart of a champion, margarine hat.

    Purveyor of high quality potassium

  • Nice review! Question, what script are you using for that speedtest?

  • bigpowerhostbigpowerhost Member, Provider

    @tester4 said:
    Nice review! Question, what script are you using for that speedtest?

    They are using this https://serverscope.io/run-benchmark

    https://www.bigpowerhosting.com
    DDOS protected KVM SSD vps Located in Nyc,Los Angeles,and Miami.

  • jure12jure12 Member
    edited December 2018

    I did a test on VPS (KVM - UK) and I'm very pleased.

    I leave the picture (test) for other people:

    The disk speed is Amazing !!!
    I believe it is NVME

    Thanked by 1eol
  • @tester4 said:
    Nice review! Question, what script are you using for that speedtest?

    bigpowerhost's answer is right, but please be mindful when you run it not to select Unix Benchmark and don't run it frequently so you don't become a nuisance on a shared node :)

    I'd only run those on a dedi.

    Providers I can recommend: BuyVM - AlphaVPS - MXRoute

  • SkanderSkander Member
    edited January 2019

    Small nitpick, the KVM server came with an IP in 7 blacklists from last April, sent delist requests to all, and will see how it goes.

    Providers I can recommend: BuyVM - AlphaVPS - MXRoute

  • Oh good price, do they small OVZ plan Solusvm support rdns setting for ipv4 ,v6 too?

  • eoleol Member

    @jure12 said:
    I did a test on VPS (KVM - UK) and I'm very pleased.

    I leave the picture (test) for other people:

    The disk speed is Amazing !!!
    I believe it is NVME

    Are you sure it's optimized already?

    ˙ɹǝuzʇǝɥ

  • And then there's the LA servers, claiming to be on a 1gb port...
    (this is after numerous tickets about the matter and being told numerous excuses)

    CPU model : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz
    Number of cores : 4
    CPU frequency : 2393.818 MHz
    Total size of Disk : 60.0 GB (1.9 GB Used)
    Total amount of Mem : 1024 MB (49 MB Used)
    Total amount of Swap : 1024 MB (7 MB Used)
    System uptime : 4 days, 22 hour 2 min
    Load average : 0.16, 0.05, 0.01
    OS : Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
    Arch : x86_64 (64 Bit)

    Kernel : 2.6.32-042stab125.5

    I/O speed(1st run) : 106 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run) : 51.4 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run) : 79.4 MB/s

    Average I/O speed : 78.9 MB/s

    Node Name IPv4 address Download Speed
    CacheFly 205.234.175.175 11.9MB/s

    Thanked by 1eol
  • eoleol Member

    @iHavenoName said:

    Why do you have no name?

    ˙ɹǝuzʇǝɥ

  • Ask Jaqen H'ghar.

  • eoleol Member

    I am asking you.

    ˙ɹǝuzʇǝɥ

  • AlexBarakovAlexBarakov Member, Provider

    @iHavenoName said:
    And then there's the LA servers, claiming to be on a 1gb port...
    (this is after numerous tickets about the matter and being told numerous excuses)

    CPU model : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz
    Number of cores : 4
    CPU frequency : 2393.818 MHz
    Total size of Disk : 60.0 GB (1.9 GB Used)
    Total amount of Mem : 1024 MB (49 MB Used)
    Total amount of Swap : 1024 MB (7 MB Used)
    System uptime : 4 days, 22 hour 2 min
    Load average : 0.16, 0.05, 0.01
    OS : Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
    Arch : x86_64 (64 Bit)

    Kernel : 2.6.32-042stab125.5

    I/O speed(1st run) : 106 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run) : 51.4 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run) : 79.4 MB/s

    Average I/O speed : 78.9 MB/s

    Node Name IPv4 address Download Speed
    CacheFly 205.234.175.175 11.9MB/s

    Are you sure that you are in the correct thread? We have no E5620 nodes, anywhere.

    AlphaVPS - Cheap VPS out of London, UK | Sofia, BG | Nuremberg, DE | NYC, US and LA, US. Cheap Dedicated servers with fast delivery!

  • @AlexBarakov He presumably has a service with AlphaRacks. Your service is, and has always been, top notch to my findings.

    Thanked by 2vimalware MasonR
  • @AlexBarakov Stop lying. Give me your old shitty gear. :cold_sweat:

  • @solaire said:
    @AlexBarakov He presumably has a service with AlphaRacks. Your service is, and has always been, top notch to my findings.

    SMH. Yes. Racks, not VPS. Please accept my apologies. Gonna update my post accordingly.

    Thanked by 2uptime solaire
  • uptimeuptime Member
    edited January 2019

    Gonna update my post accordingly.

    And trade your zero for a hero - maybe they've got something to help wash that rack-ish taste out of your mouth. AlphaVPS is the good stuff, worth paying a bit more for (and their prices are quite reasonable in my opinion).

    the Amitz.party lives on!

  • Quick update on these.

    Updated automatically today to OVZ7.
    CPU went from the E3-1270 v5 @ 3.8Ghz to E5-2450L @ 1.8Ghz.

    Thanked by 1pepa65

    Providers I can recommend: BuyVM - AlphaVPS - MXRoute

  • I moved over to OVZ7 with them in August and have been very pleased.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Speedtest Monster v.1.4.5 2019-10-13
     Region: Global  https://bench.monster/speedtest.html
     Usage : curl -LsO bench.monster/speedtest.sh; bash speedtest.sh -Global
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     OS           : CentOS 6.10 (64 Bit)
     Virt/Kernel  : OpenVZ / 3.10.0-957.12.2.vz7.86.2
     CPU Model    : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2650 0 @ 2.00GHz
     CPU Cores    : 1 @ 1200.000 MHz x86_64 20480 KB Cache
     CPU Flags    : AES-NI Enabled & VM-x/AMD-V Enabled
     Load Average : 0.13, 0.05, 0.05
     Total Space  : 4.9G (1.7G ~35% used)
     Total RAM    : 361 MB / 512 MB (0 MB Buff)
     Total SWAP   : 0 MB / 0 MB
     Uptime       : 78 days 17:8
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     ASN & ISP    : AS203380, DA International Group Ltd.
     Organization : DA International Group Ltd
     Location     : Sofia, Bulgaria / BG
     Region       : Sofia-Capital
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
     ## IO Test
    
     CPU Speed:
        bzip2     :  42.5 MB/s
       sha256     :  84.7 MB/s
       md5sum     : 199 MB/s
    
     RAM Speed:
       Avg. write : 646.0 MB/s
       Avg. read  : 2696.5 MB/s
    
     Disk Write Speed:
       1st run    : 397 MB/s
       2nd run    : 474 MB/s
       3rd run    : 379 MB/s
       -----------------------
       Average    : 416.7 MB/s
    
     ## Global Speedtest
    
     Location                       Upload           Download         Ping
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Speedtest.net                  852.20 Mbit/s    837.31 Mbit/s    2.695 ms
     USA, New York (AT&T)           129.04 Mbit/s    156.58 Mbit/s   121.794 ms
     USA, Chicago (Windstream)      81.96 Mbit/s     190.48 Mbit/s   147.766 ms
     USA, Dallas (Frontier)         140.10 Mbit/s    228.39 Mbit/s   144.510 ms
     USA, Miami (Frontier)          151.74 Mbit/s    188.91 Mbit/s   136.102 ms
     USA, Los Angeles (Spectrum)    109.81 Mbit/s    184.79 Mbit/s   195.579 ms
     UK, London (Community Fibre)   388.43 Mbit/s    309.63 Mbit/s    41.991 ms
     France, Lyon (SFR)             266.47 Mbit/s    542.89 Mbit/s    40.457 ms
     Germany, Berlin (DNS:NET)      371.81 Mbit/s    467.99 Mbit/s    38.626 ms
     Spain, Madrid (Adamo)          278.29 Mbit/s    397.27 Mbit/s    51.199 ms
     Italy, Rome (Unidata)          262.72 Mbit/s    320.96 Mbit/s    60.463 ms
     Russia, Moscow (MTS)           147.13 Mbit/s    209.86 Mbit/s    60.975 ms
     Israel, Haifa (013Netvision)   240.45 Mbit/s    306.73 Mbit/s    76.993 ms
     India, New Delhi (Airtel)      69.04 Mbit/s     218.96 Mbit/s   163.360 ms
     Singapore (FirstMedia)         66.04 Mbit/s     58.30 Mbit/s    175.539 ms
     Japan, Tsukuba (SoftEther)     20.16 Mbit/s     84.71 Mbit/s    275.920 ms
     Australia, Sydney (Yes Optus)  18.96 Mbit/s     21.66 Mbit/s    316.495 ms
     RSA, Randburg (Cool Ideas)     76.10 Mbit/s     106.37 Mbit/s   203.665 ms
     Brazil, Sao Paulo (Criare)     64.31 Mbit/s     106.29 Mbit/s   227.338 ms
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Thanked by 2uptime pepa65

    Affiliate link for one of my favorite provider's special offer page

  • @FrankZ said:
    I moved over to OVZ7 with them in August and have been very pleased.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Speedtest Monster v.1.4.5 2019-10-13
     Region: Global  https://bench.monster/speedtest.html
     Usage : curl -LsO bench.monster/speedtest.sh; bash speedtest.sh -Global
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     OS           : CentOS 6.10 (64 Bit)
     Virt/Kernel  : OpenVZ / 3.10.0-957.12.2.vz7.86.2
     CPU Model    : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2650 0 @ 2.00GHz
     CPU Cores    : 1 @ 1200.000 MHz x86_64 20480 KB Cache
     CPU Flags    : AES-NI Enabled & VM-x/AMD-V Enabled
     Load Average : 0.13, 0.05, 0.05
     Total Space  : 4.9G (1.7G ~35% used)
     Total RAM    : 361 MB / 512 MB (0 MB Buff)
     Total SWAP   : 0 MB / 0 MB
     Uptime       : 78 days 17:8
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     ASN & ISP    : AS203380, DA International Group Ltd.
     Organization : DA International Group Ltd
     Location     : Sofia, Bulgaria / BG
     Region       : Sofia-Capital
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
     ## IO Test
    
     CPU Speed:
        bzip2     :  42.5 MB/s
       sha256     :  84.7 MB/s
       md5sum     : 199 MB/s
    
     RAM Speed:
       Avg. write : 646.0 MB/s
       Avg. read  : 2696.5 MB/s
    
     Disk Write Speed:
       1st run    : 397 MB/s
       2nd run    : 474 MB/s
       3rd run    : 379 MB/s
       -----------------------
       Average    : 416.7 MB/s
    
     ## Global Speedtest
    
     Location                       Upload           Download         Ping
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Speedtest.net                  852.20 Mbit/s    837.31 Mbit/s    2.695 ms
     USA, New York (AT&T)           129.04 Mbit/s    156.58 Mbit/s   121.794 ms
     USA, Chicago (Windstream)      81.96 Mbit/s     190.48 Mbit/s   147.766 ms
     USA, Dallas (Frontier)         140.10 Mbit/s    228.39 Mbit/s   144.510 ms
     USA, Miami (Frontier)          151.74 Mbit/s    188.91 Mbit/s   136.102 ms
     USA, Los Angeles (Spectrum)    109.81 Mbit/s    184.79 Mbit/s   195.579 ms
     UK, London (Community Fibre)   388.43 Mbit/s    309.63 Mbit/s    41.991 ms
     France, Lyon (SFR)             266.47 Mbit/s    542.89 Mbit/s    40.457 ms
     Germany, Berlin (DNS:NET)      371.81 Mbit/s    467.99 Mbit/s    38.626 ms
     Spain, Madrid (Adamo)          278.29 Mbit/s    397.27 Mbit/s    51.199 ms
     Italy, Rome (Unidata)          262.72 Mbit/s    320.96 Mbit/s    60.463 ms
     Russia, Moscow (MTS)           147.13 Mbit/s    209.86 Mbit/s    60.975 ms
     Israel, Haifa (013Netvision)   240.45 Mbit/s    306.73 Mbit/s    76.993 ms
     India, New Delhi (Airtel)      69.04 Mbit/s     218.96 Mbit/s   163.360 ms
     Singapore (FirstMedia)         66.04 Mbit/s     58.30 Mbit/s    175.539 ms
     Japan, Tsukuba (SoftEther)     20.16 Mbit/s     84.71 Mbit/s    275.920 ms
     Australia, Sydney (Yes Optus)  18.96 Mbit/s     21.66 Mbit/s    316.495 ms
     RSA, Randburg (Cool Ideas)     76.10 Mbit/s     106.37 Mbit/s   203.665 ms
     Brazil, Sao Paulo (Criare)     64.31 Mbit/s     106.29 Mbit/s   227.338 ms
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    Yep, the performance is still quite good. The migration was seamless.
    Ticket automatically opened by the bot, upgrade complete and it was automatically closed with a success message.

    Old IP tunneled to new IP (for two weeks) and things were just as I left them.

    Providers I can recommend: BuyVM - AlphaVPS - MXRoute

  • AlexBarakovAlexBarakov Member, Provider

    Hello again!

    Indeed - some users are placed on Dual E5-2450L nodes which have lower clock speeds, however please do note that these are 16 cores / 32 threads, vs 4 cores / 8 threads. Our new nodes are with 192GB - 384GB of RAM as well, as we've been hitting some limits. The migration was a long-planned one. We're not simply migrating VPS, we're load balancing the nodes and users in between. While the core clock speed might be a bit less, the overall performance should be even more stable and predictable.

    Certain new options will be presented to our users soon, across locations. These options would include some high clock and dedicated core VMs and upgrades.

    Alex

    AlphaVPS - Cheap VPS out of London, UK | Sofia, BG | Nuremberg, DE | NYC, US and LA, US. Cheap Dedicated servers with fast delivery!

Sign In or Register to comment.