Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

VPSDime - 1 Month Review

VPSDime - 1 Month Review

badpatrickbadpatrick Member
edited October 2013 in Reviews

Plan: LowEndTalk Offer: Link To Offer

Promised Specs: 4cpu, 6GB Memory, 30GB HD, 2TB Bandwidth. @ $7 USD / Month - (I purchased two of these plans)

Stability: This service is currently hosting several active websites. Other than my own server restarts for installations and updates there has been zero downtime.

Support: I've only dealt with billing support who provided me a pre-sales link to combine two VPS's into one. Ticket was answered quickly and handled profesionally.

Overall: I'm sorry that there is not more to mention in my review. The service has been extremely reliable and it performs beyond my expectations. This is another service I hope to keep for a very long time. Though the VPSDime brand is new I trust the Backupsy and "serverian" names behind this operation.

Stats: dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync 16384+0 records in 16384+0 records out 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 2.86876 s, 374 MB/s

wget -O /dev/null http://cachefly.cachefly.net/100mb.test --2013-10-23 16:54:39-- http://cachefly.cachefly.net/100mb.test 100%[======================================>] 104,857,600 49.9M/s in 2.0s 2013-10-23 16:54:41 (49.9 MB/s) - /dev/null saved [104857600/104857600]

Thanked by 2Zen serverian

Comments

  • ZenZen Member
    edited October 2013

    Looks like you've been given access to 8 over 4 cores too! (or HT?)

    I can only agree with this review - I signed up for the beta and throttled the CPU in that phase - as I'm sure everyone else did. The server definitely held up perfectly fine (I ran other operations in the background to check performance while everyone killed the CPU).

    I'm now using it as one big playground for developing/testing modular functions for a hosted Ghost service - definately not the type of strain I should be putting it under. But hopefully if/when I get the service complete I will be using Serverian's range of services in each location as the main provider. The high amount of RAM is perfect for a shared services environment and along with the other brands that add value to eachother, for example backing up the environment is easily done via deployment of a Backupsy container.

    Oops, this turned into my own little mini review. Well - I will actually be pretty upset if serverian ever lets go of these brands - he executes their launch perfectly and he maintains them with a top team from what it seems which makes the brands stand our from the crowd. I don't care for many providers, honestly, I find service mediocre and that's because I'm used to providing a service myself and I look at providers from this point of view: "Could I do better?" - and the answer for a lot of services is yes, I could, but serverian wins here and he is one of the few people whose services I trust and respect (along with CastleGem/Iperweb/and maby one or two others).

    TL;DR - Serverian is awesome and I'm happy to have had the chance to support his new brand.

    :) I am available for hire as a systems administrator, customer support technician levels 1-3, including managed support. Based in UK. Flexible time-zones and hours.

  • @badpatrick, @Zen, thank you so much for being awesome. You made me very happy now!

    Oktay

  • Is it possible to still link 2 VPS together?

  • DavidxDavidx Member
    edited October 2013

    I could only confirm @badpatrick & @Zen's review. :)

    I had a couple of issues and they were resolved very quickly by Oktay.

    One of my favorite VMs by far. :)

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • @doughnet said: Is it possible to still link 2 VPS together?

    Yep, as always

  • matthewvzmatthewvz Member, Provider

    I have one of these myself, it is amazing. Network is always amazing and the disk speeds are always 300MB/s+. Never had one issue with this box and I don't expect any.

    I run a Minecraft server. | Not mtwiscool.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • the vps is amazing. great speeds, 100% uptime ... my only problem, i have NO use for something with this much RAM. it's amazing but I just can't think of something to do with it. i don't want to let some kiddies run some game servers on it, but any ideas on some servers/software that is unique and awesome to mess around with?

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • @doughnet said: the vps is amazing. great speeds, 100% uptime ... my only problem, i have NO use for something with this much RAM. it's amazing but I just can't think of something to do with it. i don't want to let some kiddies run some game servers on it, but any ideas on some servers/software that is unique and awesome to mess around with?

    VNC?

    Cheap KVM in 3 locations | Sign Up!

  • @doughnet said: Is it possible to still link 2 VPS together?

    Sure, we can do this. Just open a ticket!

  • @serverian: 1.) Is that 6GB guaranteed RAM for me ? 2.) is their any provision for backups ? 3.) that 7$ must be the recurring price every month or does it increase after 1 month or few months?

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • @ertiop93 said: @serverian: 1.) Is that 6GB guaranteed RAM for me ? 2.) is their any provision for backups ? 3.) that 7$ must be the recurring price every month or does it increase after 1 month or few months?

    1. You can't use 6GB RAM without abusing other resources like IO and CPU. But yeah.

    2. You should take your own backups.

    3. Recurring.

  • instatechinstatech Member
    edited February 2014

    I like vpsdime as well want to try their winity (windows) brand but it will be idle vps since there is nothing to learn about window's compared to Linux.But still i am going to spend my cash on it.Since I mostly use vps for learning purpose.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • +1 to the good review. I got one, I like it. I highly recommend it to others.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • DennisdeWitDennisdeWit Member
    edited February 2014

    Oktay looks like a boss on this forum. Congrats @serverian

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • ertiop93ertiop93 Member
    edited March 2014

    Hey all VPSDime users, consider joining this google group for VPSDime users which is intended to be a discussion & learning space for all VPSDime users.

    I just created this group so that all the fellow VPSDime users can connect & talk to each other, discuss any issues or ask for help & support from each other. All of us had such a huge requirement for a discussion space.

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • jhjh Member

    @serverian runs a good shop. One of the very few LET providers I feel I can trust.

    I'm an experienced software engineer. Want something built? Contact me!

    Thanked by 1serverian
  • Thanks everyone. We try :)

    Btw, I've created a IRC channel for vpsdimers. It's #vpsdime on irc.freenode.net

    You can use http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=vpsdime if you don't have an IRC client.

    Thanked by 1netomx
  • It is great service, the uptime is 89 days. I have only one external down notice from pingdom because of my fault: the domain is expired.

    Only concern in my mind: vpsdime uses solus, which do not provide the console access, so be careful when you hardening your ssh access.

    My site, powered by Netlify and Let's Encrypt.

  • @serverian said: Thanks everyone. We try :)

    Btw, I've created a IRC channel for vpsdimers. It's #vpsdime on irc.freenode.net

    You can use http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=vpsdime if you don't have an IRC client.

    That IRC channel seems kind of dead at the moment

    jimpop: nuclear accidents DO happen
    jimpop: don't let them bring your website down

  • iSkyiSky Member

    hi @serverian it seems this review wipe out all my worried, i will try this when i got back from my vacation, it is very awesome 6GB Ram,

  • nunimnunim Member

    I've been with VPSDime for more than a few months now, I'm nothing but pleased, especially with the recent addition of IPv6. I don't have one of those 6GB moster plans as I have no use for it, but my little 512 has been a rock solis VPS.

    Bottom line is you can't go wrong with a VPSDime.

    SonicGlass 11 Locations- Amsterdam, Atlanta, Denver, Los Angeles, , Milan,
    SonicBoxes.com - VPS Tips, Tricks & Tutorials

  • @bookstack said: solus, which do not provide the console access, so be careful when you hardening your ssh access.

    I am not sure what you meant here?

    If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy.

  • Maounique said: I am not sure what you meant here?

    There's no console... If you block yourself due to poorly-defined iptables rules, or change the SSH port on Centos without disabling selinux, you'll have to ticket support to fix the situation.

  • mpkossenmpkossen Moderator

    @Damian said: There's no console... If you block yourself due to poorly-defined iptables rules, or change the SSH port on Centos without disabling selinux, you'll have to ticket support to fix the situation.

    That sucks.

    I recommend Prometeus, the best provider ever! | Get your IP at getmyip.ninja
    Check out my blog at mpkossen.com

  • mpkossen said: That sucks.

    That it does. VPSDime uses the ModulesGarden Solus module, which is extremely broken and they seem to have zero desire to fix it.

  • @Damian said: That it does. VPSDime uses the ModulesGarden Solus module, which is extremely broken and they seem to have zero desire to fix it.

    They give you the source code if you want. You can fix it yourself!

  • rmlhhdrmlhhd Member, Provider

    RIPE NCC Member

  • @Damian said: There's no console... If you block yourself due to poorly-defined iptables rules, or change the SSH port on Centos without disabling selinux, you'll have to ticket support to fix the situation.

    If you open a console session from SolusVM it gives you the ip, port (of HN) and console user/pw which you can use in a regular SSH client.

    Patrick | INIZ
  • kornnflakekornnflake Member
    edited March 2014

    @INIZ said: If you open a console session from SolusVM it gives you the ip, port (of HN) and console user/pw which you can use in a regular SSH client.

    VPSDime doesn't provide user access to SolusVM (although they use it as their backend). You control the server with ModulesGarden's Solus module within WHMCS which doesn't has a console :p

  • @rmlhhd said: badpatrick What did you use to get http://i.imgur.com/ExlIzlW.jpg

    phpsysinfo.github.io/phpsysinfo/

  • sallysally Member

    So, how about you're newly acquired DotVPS service - will that be improving pretty radically - and pretty soon?? Atrocious connectivity so far!!!

  • @sally said: So, how about you're newly acquired DotVPS service - will that be improving pretty radically - and pretty soon?? Atrocious connectivity so far!!!

    The network is fine. As I explained on the other thread. We are having troubles with one node's hardware.

  • I just wanted to say thank you @serverian for the wonderful afternoon I spent with your support crew as they migrated my vps from Los Angeles to Dallas, set a ptr record, and overall made me fell good about being your customer. Thanks again for all your hard work.

    Thanked by 2Zen serverian
  • Damian said: That it does. VPSDime uses the ModulesGarden Solus module, which is extremely broken and they seem to have zero desire to fix it.

    Actually we have a strong desire to improve our modules. You can find more info in one of our recent conversations here: http://lowendtalk.com/discussion/22580/openstack-module-for-whmcs#latest Do not let the title of the post to misguide you, as the significant part of that conversation is all about our SolusVM modules. The part that interests you starts from @marcm reply on the 27th February.

    ModulesGarden - Official WHMCS Partner - High-End Modules For The Most Known Web Applications & Top Quality Custom Software Development Services For: Web Hosting Systems | Control Panels | Servers & Cloud Management | CMS | eCommerce

Sign In or Register to comment.