Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
virtono.com Miami KVM review
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

virtono.com Miami KVM review

datanoisedatanoise Member
edited September 2018 in Reviews

I was looking for a KVM in the US and found out that Virtono had opened their Miami location and were looking for some people to check out and review their services there. I was planning to order a VPS with another provider but decided that it was a great opportunity to try what Virtono had to offer in the area.

I ordered a "Cloud L" from their KVM line. Specs are:

80GB SSD
2 Core Processor
4GB Memory
1Gbps Connection
1 IPv4 Address
1 IPv6 Address
4TB Bandwidth

Initial Setup

Signup is done using WHMCS, nothing special here. During the initial setup it's only possible to choose between CentOS, Debian or Ubuntu (but recent versions are available). Once the setup is complete you have access to their "Could Panel" which is a Virtualizor VPS Panel. There you can reinstall with more options: you can choose CentOS, openSUSE, Scientific, Webuzo (ubuntu based), Ubuntu, Fedora, Debian, Windows 2012 server.

There is no *BSD, but it's possible to add our own ISO and decide to boot on that. It's possible to launch a VNC session and they provide you with an html5 client: it makes it fairly easy to setup any OS, I got FreeBSD running in no time.

They send the password used at registration in plaintext, as well as the password you choose for root. Seems like bad practice to me, but you can (and probably should) change those after your first login.

There is only one ipv6 but ipv6 works out of the box and it's possible to ask for more if needed.

Their rescue system is based on Debian and works fine, it's pretty straightforward to use and the switch to the rescue system or back to the main OS is quick. Installing or reinstalling an OS is fast as well.

Bench

I did a bench.sh, nench.sh and a more complete serverscope.io bench (including UnixBench). Server was running a fresh Debian install & idle during these tests. Here are the results:

bench.sh:

CPU model : Westmere E56xx/L56xx/X56xx (Nehalem-C)
Number of cores : 2
CPU frequency : 2666.760 MHz
Total size of Disk : 77.0 GB (1.2 GB Used)
Total amount of Mem : 3956 MB (59 MB Used)
Total amount of Swap : 2047 MB (0 MB Used)
System uptime : 0 days, 0 hour 8 min
Load average : 0.48, 0.19, 0.07
OS : Debian GNU/Linux 9
Arch : x86_64 (64 Bit)
Kernel : 4.9.0-4-amd64

I/O speed(1st run) : 800 MB/s
I/O speed(2nd run) : 841 MB/s
I/O speed(3rd run) : 855 MB/s
Average I/O speed : 832.0 MB/s

Node Name IPv4 address Download Speed
CacheFly 205.234.175.175 80.6MB/s
Linode, Tokyo, JP 106.187.96.148 7.99MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG 139.162.23.4 4.37MB/s
Linode, London, UK 176.58.107.39 13.3MB/s
Linode, Frankfurt, DE 139.162.130.8 10.6MB/s
Linode, Fremont, CA 50.116.14.9 4.45MB/s
Softlayer, Dallas, TX 173.192.68.18 59.6MB/s
Softlayer, Seattle, WA 67.228.112.250 20.1MB/s
Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE 159.122.69.4 12.7MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG 119.81.28.170 6.87MB/s
Softlayer, HongKong, CN 119.81.130.170 8.74MB/s

Node Name IPv6 address Download Speed
Linode, Atlanta, GA 2600:3c02::4b 68.1MB/s
Linode, Dallas, TX 2600:3c00::4b 35.5MB/s
Linode, Newark, NJ 2600:3c03::4b 48.3MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG 2400:8901::4b 6.52MB/s
Linode, Tokyo, JP 2400:8900::4b 9.72MB/s
Softlayer, San Jose, CA 2607:f0d0:2601:2a::4 15.3MB/s
Softlayer, Washington, WA 2607:f0d0:3001:78::2 17.1MB/s
Softlayer, Paris, FR 2a03:8180:1301:8::4 7.10MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG 2401:c900:1101:8::2 5.54MB/s
Softlayer, Tokyo, JP 2401:c900:1001:16::4 7.84MB/s

nench.sh:

Processor: Westmere E56xx/L56xx/X56xx (Nehalem-C)
CPU cores: 2
Frequency: 2666.760 MHz
RAM: 3.9G
Swap: 2.0G
Kernel: Linux 4.9.0-4-amd64 x86_64

Disks:
vda 80G HDD

CPU: SHA256-hashing 500 MB
3.855 seconds
CPU: bzip2-compressing 500 MB
6.371 seconds
CPU: AES-encrypting 500 MB
1.417 seconds

ioping: seek rate
min/avg/max/mdev = 110.3 us / 260.7 us / 3.98 ms / 86.8 us
ioping: sequential read speed
generated 6.07 k requests in 5.00 s, 1.48 GiB, 1.21 k iops, 303.6 MiB/s

dd: sequential write speed
1st run: 749.59 MiB/s
2nd run: 705.72 MiB/s
3rd run: 868.80 MiB/s
average: 774.70 MiB/s

IPv4 speedtests
your IPv4: 93.119.xxx.xxx

Cachefly CDN:         81.56 MiB/s
Leaseweb (NL):        10.90 MiB/s
Softlayer DAL (US):   41.06 MiB/s
Online.net (FR):      11.53 MiB/s
OVH BHS (CA):         35.12 MiB/s

IPv6 speedtests
your IPv6: 2001:550:xxxx:xxxx

Leaseweb (NL):        20.93 MiB/s
Softlayer DAL (US):   53.85 MiB/s
Online.net (FR):      12.53 MiB/s
OVH BHS (CA):         34.60 MiB/s

Serverscope.io:

https://serverscope.io/trials/JeL2

Latency / Pings:

As this box is in Miami we can expect good latency to North & South America as well as EU. I did some tests and the result is quite good:

  • Canada (Montreal)
    ping.ovh.ca - 39.462 ms

  • US (Las Vegas)
    209.141.56.135 - 71.264 ms

  • US (Washington DC)
    mirror.wdc1.us.leaseweb.net - 27.191 ms

  • Mexico (Mexico City):
    131.100.0.34 - 58.319 ms

  • Brazil (São Paulo):
    18.231.0.252 - 116.703 ms

  • Argentina (Buenos Aires):
    217.146.28.82 - 134.714 ms

  • Chile (Curicó):
    186.64.122.3 - 115.293 ms

  • Netherlands (Amsterdam)
    mirror.ams1.nl.leaseweb.net - 107.498 ms

  • France (Paris)
    ping.online.net - 105.464 ms

  • Russia (Saint-Petersburg)
    94.242.57.101 - 155.305 ms

  • Hong Kong
    mirror.hkg10.hk.leaseweb.net - 257.613 ms

  • Singapore
    mirror.sin11.sg.leaseweb.net - 278.734 ms

  • Australia (Sydney)
    mirror.syd10.au.leaseweb.net - 244.184 ms

Support

I asked a few questions when needed and the answers were always fast and courteous . Obviously I didn't need much support yet but it seems good so far.

Pricing

Pricing for this VPS is €21.95/month. They currently have an offer for a recurring 30% off with code LET30VRT; and pricing gets lower if you pay for 3 months or more. Ordering for a year would lower the price to €12.8/month. EU citizens must pay VAT. It seems to me that it's fairly competitive for the location, given what they offer.

Conclusion

Seems pretty good so far. I'll host some websites on this VPS and keep it monitored to see how it performs in a real life scenario. I'll keep you updated.

Thanked by 1IWNet

don't buy what you don't need: you'll save money and will end up able to grab a quality VPS when really needed.

Comments

Sign In or Register to comment.