Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I have 2 separate servers?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Should I have 2 separate servers?

JohnMiller92JohnMiller92 Member
edited June 2018 in Help

Hello again!

I was curious about something and thought LET would be the best place to get stern and valid responses.

I have a game master server which runs on Crystal (utilizes only 1 core). It will be used only as a match making server. And I did some testing on ChicagoVPS last month, and my results were:

vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
 model name      : QEMU Virtual CPU version (cpu64-rhel6)
 cpu MHz         : 2199.998
 RESULT with 6 second ping timer @ 13000 clients (TCP CONN) ===> 33-47% CPU USAGE.

13000 players is probably more than my game will EVER get. And that CPU usage imo, probably justifies the need for a dedicated server. Thanks to Woot and PnZ Hosting for the client connections! :)

The kicker is, I also have a customized fluxbb forum on it as well. Which utilizes nginx, php, and mysql.

The only real table in mysql that would get big is rpg_user_items. It's indexed properly and basically just stores all the items for players. I did some math earlier, and it's around 3MB per 18,000 rows of data. So around 166MB foreach 1,000,000 items.

Basically, you get the idea. It's going to be on the same MYSQL server as the forum. If I get a dedicated server, I am pretty sure I would be fine to have the master game server running, and a small lightweight forum on it too. I was looking at the KS-7 (Intel i3-2130) Kimsufi, but it doesn't have an SSD AFAIK. I am not sure if that will be a hindrance for the forum, but for the master game server I think it will...