Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

How to select which IPV6 to send a request from when having an IPv6 range?
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

How to select which IPV6 to send a request from when having an IPv6 range?

jukyjijukyji Member
edited June 13 in Help

Please keep in mind that I just started learning about IPv6.

I have bought a test VPS which says they give /112 IPv6 range. I understand it as they giving some IPv6 range and the owner of VPS (me) is able to select which IPv6 he wants to use. Therefore there should be many IPv6 possibilities and I want to test it. If I make this curl request

curl http://v4v6.ipv6-test.com/api/myip.php the result is 2a00:1630:66:d7::ae4c. Same with curl --interface 2a00:1630:66:d7::ae4c http://v4v6.ipv6-test.com/api/myip.php

Now if my VPS has an IP range of many IPv6 possibilities, how can I choose another IPv6 to send the request from, so that the destination server also sees another IPv6? Which symbols of 2a00:1630:66:d7::ae4c can I edit that my VPS would be able to bind to? Not sure if my explanation makes sense, so here is what I tried:

curl --interface 2a00:1630:66:d7::ae4c:0001 http://v4v6.ipv6-test.com/api/myip.php
curl: (45) Couldn't bind to '2a00:1630:66:d7::ae4c:0001'
ifconfig:

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

venet0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
inet addr:127.0.0.2 P-t-P:127.0.0.2 Bcast:0.0.0.0 Mask:255.255.255.255
inet6 addr: 2a00:1630:66:d7::ae4c/64 Scope:Global