Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What is considered reasonable downtime?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What is considered reasonable downtime?

I do IT for a living so I know about planning image backups, fault tolerance, failover, redundancy, raid 10 etc. I also understand that sometimes things just happen. For example: one of the VPS providers that was heavily active on LEB was subjected to a long-term denial of service attack and during that process my VPS was off-line. I certainly would not fault the providing company. But during the last 60 days my VPS has gone off-line for 4 to 5 hours straight. This happened less than 30 days ago and the second occurrence is happening as I type this. I did what any reasonable client would do, I filled out a support ticket and said my VPS is off-line, please advise.

When this took place 30 days ago, after five hours of downtime all I received was a comment from the support department that there was a problem with another VPS and supposedly things had been corrected. Here I am less than 30 days later and my VPS is been off-line for going on over four hours. This is right in the middle of the business day and again I filled out a support ticket with an inquiry as to what the heck is going on. This provider has a Twitter page and a Facebook page and a network status link all of which make no mention of any outages.

If they’re having a serious issue I believe all their technicians should be focusing on solving it and not taking time out to hand hold affected clients. But after 4 to 5 hours is it reasonable to be advised as to when my VPS will come back online?
What is considered reasonable here?
At this point the provider is nameless. If this continues they won’t be!

Comments