Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Pulling my hair out
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Pulling my hair out

I have this server in philly that I have been using to serve plex via gdrive for the last 6 months, but since the last week I have started experiencing severe buffering on even a single stream. I thought their network has gone to shit and rented a sys server in Canada, and it's doing the same thing, tried another server and same thing.

So it seems like the problem could be on my end, but I have a gigabit connection and all servers are setup via cloudflare. My speed test shows 800mb download and ping is only 12ms via cloudflare. I don't know what else to test, nothing has changed in terms of configuration. Any ideas?

Comments

• Have you tried it without cloudflare? What kind of client/appliance do you use on your local end (to watch)?

• Where is your end? Could this be Comcast DPS or something? Try encrypting the connection.

• TomTom Member

machine123 said: via cloudflare

Plex with Cloudflare? lol, cloudflare isn't supposed to be used like that. Try it without.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

willie said: Comcast DPS

What is that?

• mkshmksh Member

@raindog308 said:

willie said: Comcast DPS

What is that?

I think he ment DPI? Not sure though.

• mksh said: I think he ment DPI? Not sure though.

Oops yes. Deep packet inspection. They slow down certain kinds of traffic when it suits them.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

Ah. Being Comcast, I figured DPS meant "Dark Perverted Satanism" or something like that.

But now that I think about it, that's too mild for them. DPI makes more sense.

• deankdeank Member, Troll

I thought it was Damage Per Second. Played too much game, sorry.