Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please suggest Linux Server Backup solution
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Please suggest Linux Server Backup solution

Hi, i'm a freelance sysadmin and i maintain several linux server for my clients (vps, cloud, clusters, dedi, etc..).

i'm using Borg as my goto backup, and i'm super happy, but since servers to maintain are getting more and more, i'm looking for a as a service solution. I mean something like a dashbord, where i install an agent on each of my servers, and from dashboard i can setup scheduling and backup, with alerts etc..

i have tried:

www.backupsheep.com
-good price
-slow support (1/2 days to reply(
-still pretty awkward to setup a backup job
-it hang evey now and then

www.bacula4.com
nice saas solution, bacula agent is top notch, but social presence is obsolete, seems like they do not work too much...

www.backuprun.com
-excelent support
-they use r1soft so special kernels are not supported (per agent limitation..) and mysql restore is a PITA (as per agent design..)

can you people advise wich you use?

thank you

Comments

• DamianDamian Member
    edited February 2018

At this point, I've tried all of them, and keep going back to rsnapshot or rclone to an object store. They're all deficient one way or another, usually in terms of availability or being extremely slow.

Are you really making adjustment to your backup scheme on a frequent enough level that you really need a point-and-click interface, or is that just something that seems like a good idea?

• the main problem is alerting and monitoring.