Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Starting a "local" shared hosting company, need some help :)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Starting a "local" shared hosting company, need some help :)

FataliaFatalia Member
edited February 2012 in General

will be serving this to our school because I noticed that it's becoming a hit now to have your own personal website [wow]

i just want some questions to be cleared as this is actually my first time starting a "business"

i'll be getting a reseller hosting from one of the top brands [i just think it's still cheaper with RH even compared to hosting them with LEBs... and much safer too since Im not that good at security :)]

and now i learned it's a good practice to host your main website to another location [so they can still send me tickets if the reseller hosting's server is down] this include the whcms [or maybe even cpanel] right? do i need to get a separate license for cpanel and whcms for this separate server?

if im wrong, what setup should i do? im so confused :))

Comments

• InfinityInfinity Member, Host Rep

@Fatalia said: do i need to get a separate license for cpanel and whcms for this separate server?

Well if you are using a reseller why do you need a cPanel license?

• get a leb, host your website there and whcms, yes you need a separate license for this
    on your reseller hosting just leave cpanel there
    integrate your whcms on the leb to your cpanel on the reseller host (doesnt even know if possible)
    profit

guys: correct me if im wrong but that was my understanding

Thanked by 1Fatalia
  • FataliaFatalia Member
    edited February 2012

@Infinity said: Well if you are using a reseller why do you need a cPanel license?