Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

Domains for forerver

Domains for forerver

Hello!

I am new to LET!

Today browse domain news and sites and got that a provider called epik offer a service that make a domain registered forever. For example a .com register for forever is 420 USD one time fee.

https://registrar.epik.com/prices

The last field is "FOREVER".

Any opinions?

What is your opinion domain will expire ever?
  1. What is your opinion domain will expire ever?45 votes
    1. Yes
      66.67%
    2. No
      33.33%

Do you have a mail in a box?

Comments

• JanevskiJanevski Member
    edited December 2017

No such thing that lasts forever.

All registries have expiry date for domain leases.

The domain registrations are actually leases, and renewals are lease renewals.

You never own a domain.

Thanked by 1Clouvider
  • It'll expire when that business expires. Nothing is forever, especially anything in the hosting industry

• deankdeank Member
    edited December 2017

You can't even own a domain. You are merely leasing it.

You can pay whatever amount to a register but when they stop paying ICANN, it will be gone.

LET-Lives-Matter | I am a sarcastic troll and has a fetish in PMS. For kids, PMS means "Premenstrual syndrome" and guys can have PMS.

• I am just curious what will turn out in WHOIS record

• @FAT32 said: I am just curious what will turn out in WHOIS record

My guess is 10 years, same as the max registration elsewhere.

@partymonger said: Actually math is pretty much my thing. I was just hoping someone already did the calculation - upto32.com - neckbeard nerdiness.

• Yeah, pretty sure they will make a run at 10 years, making a nice sum of money overall. Can't even chargeback or anything at that point.

A nice scam attempt actually.