Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Move a WHM from one server to another - any simple guide/best practice?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Move a WHM from one server to another - any simple guide/best practice?

Hello, I'm pretty new with WHM/Cpanel (or used cpanel a lot before, but not WHM).
We have a server with a couple of hundred sites in WHM/Cpanel. I want to just setup a new clean CentOS 6.9 installation, and just move all accounts from the old server to the new.
I'm used with Virtualmin, and there it's really simple to just move all sites from one server to another. How easy is this with WHM? And will all of quotas, packages etc also be easy transferred?

What is best practice around this? I'm sure you guys are moving WHM's between servers on daily basis? :D

Comments

• You can use transfer tool?

Thanked by 1myhken
  • So, since the hardware and OS will be the same on the new server, this tool do all the job?

• @myhken said:

So, since the hardware and OS will be the same on the new server, this tool do all the job?

Yes make sure php and mysql versions are also same.

• WHT said: Yes make sure php and mysql versions are also same.

Ok, but will all server (WHM) settings also be transferred? We have different plans with different quota settings, or do we need to create all plans on the new server?

• @myhken said:

WHT said: Yes make sure php and mysql versions are also same.

Ok, but will all server (WHM) settings also be transferred? We have different plans with different quota settings, or do we need to create all plans on the new server?

You can copy the packages, it's in the documentation here
    https://documentation.cpanel.net/display/ALD/Transfer+Tool#TransferTool-Howtocopypackages

Thanked by 1myhken