Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

When NAT VPS providers Change IPs
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

When NAT VPS providers Change IPs

randvegetarandvegeta Member, Host Rep

Does it happen at all that NAT VPS providers change the IPv4 address with little or no notice?

If so, do providers have some DNS for that shared IP setup so you can always reach your server via a certain domain?

I'm not a provider or user of NAT based VPS so I'm curious.

Comments

• You don't understand NAT hosting.

If the IP changes, there's usually a support forum where users can look up what's changed. The majority of NAT offers come with NATIVE IPv6, so you can get in that way. IPv4 is generally provided only for necessity/convenience, but overall it is not the primary focus.

DNS usually isn't set, and there's no guarantee of rDNS since hosts don't tend to like people to do naughty things from the shared IP.

• It's not common i'd say but does happen. Can't remember seeing any openly announced DNS. But i remember at least Virtvire having setup reverse DNS on the NAT IPs. Never tried if they resolved the other way though.

• Which provider?

• AnthonySmithAnthonySmith Member, Patron Provider
    edited November 2017

Depends, I don't think I have ever done it without notice however it really depends on what your agreements are with said provider, some people are offering NAT as a commercial service with support and SLA now, while I only offer them with no SLA and community support.

I am sure it is annoying to get your IP changed, but I am also sure it would not really impact anything either, why would anyone host anything that could have impact on a basic NAT service?

• @AnthonySmith said: