Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Choosing a modern CMS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Choosing a modern CMS

depricateddepricated Member
edited November 2017 in General

I'm brand new to web hosting and development, although I have a science/tech background. I'm looking to make a few simple websites: personal profile pages and a basic business info site.

I'm looking for a CMS that is fairly user friendly for development, and especially easy for totally non-technical people to update content. I would have gone with WordPress, but since I'm starting from scratch, I'd like to try a modern solution.

Requirements:

• FOSS

• Easy for non-techies to maintain content, small modifications

• Decent and growing community

• Good selection of templates/themes/skeletons

Basically, I'm looking for the Ubuntu of CMS.

Currently, I've shortlisted Bolt, Grav, and October. Which do you recommend and why?

What is the Ubuntu of CMS
  1. Which CMS do you recommend?16 votes
    1. Bolt
        0.00%
    2. Grav
      62.50%
    3. October
        0.00%
    4. None of the above
      37.50%

Comments

• If you want Non-Techies, then you still want WordPress. Try Grav and Ghost (if you can stomach Node), and then decide what works for you. If you want a real CMS, though, you'll want something more than a blog-on-acid.

• @WSS, the non-techies should be able to update content, or maybe make some new pages, etc. The UI on the ones I mentioned might be ok for that much?

I omitted Ghost due to Node (tricky for shared hosting?) and since it seems really focused on blogs.

• @depricated said:
    @WSS, the non-techies should be able to update content, or maybe make some new pages, etc. The UI on the ones I mentioned might be ok for that much?