Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help a newbie choose a web host
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Help a newbie choose a web host

I have a technical background but I'm totally new to web hosting. The sheer number of free and cheap shared hosting options have my head spinning.

Goals:

• Create modern and simple websites that are (mostly) easy enough to maintain/update for non-technical family members

• Learn, experiment, have fun with web tech

What I (think I) need/want:

• shared hosting for 3-4 domains, 1-2 with a few subdomains (mostly personal profile sites, eventually 1 small business site)

• Initially expecting low disk needs

• Expect very low traffic

• Email hosting optional, nice to have but I'd prefer a dedicated email host if needed eventually, meanwhile email forwarding might be quite sufficient

• SSL seems like the way to go even if I'm not planning on any ecommerce or logins

Questions:

1. What's the difference between the free and cheap (< $1/month) hosting? I'm guessing both are loss leaders and highly overallocated. One difference seems like the paid ones avoid inactivity clauses. Is this correct? Specs are also more generous but might not matter for simple sites. Anything else?

2. How is the reliability of free hosting and how does it compare with cheap hosts? Reviews are all over the place.

3. Opinions on x10hosting, awardspace, webfreehosting, freehostingnoads, 5gbfree, etc?

4. Wordpress, joomla? ... Drupal?

Comments

• MichaelCeeMichaelCee Barred
    edited November 2017

A $1/month hosting node could still be as over allocated as a free node, but it's most likely a free node will be worse, with abusers etc. Most cheaper hosts will usually include free SSL (LetsEncrypt or AutoSSL)