Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!


Review: Treudler 1 TB Special (10€/Quarter)
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

Review: Treudler 1 TB Special (10€/Quarter)

stefemanstefeman Member
edited September 2017 in Reviews
VPS-HDD-LET
1 vCore 
Xeon E5-2620v3 @ 2.4-3.2 GHz
1 GB DDR4 ECC 2400 MHz  
1 TB SAS RAID   
10 Gbps Burst @ 100 Mbps guaranteed

https://www.treudler.net/sales/

Heres serverbench results.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
Number of cores      : 2
CPU frequency        : 2399.805 MHz
Total amount of ram  : 2048 MB
Total amount of swap : 2048 MB
System uptime        : 0days, 0:1:12
Load average         : 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
OS                   : Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab123.9
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
CacheFly                        205.234.175.175         25.4MB/s
Vultr, Tokyo, JP                108.61.201.151
Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          7.72MB/s
DO, Bangalore, IN               139.59.44.249           12.0MB/s
Softlayer, Chennai, IN          169.38.65.84            11.0MB/s
Vultr, Singapore, SG            45.32.100.168
DO, Singapore, SG               128.199.210.182         4.90MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            6.56MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           8.13MB/s
Leaseweb, Singapore, SG         103.254.153.18          5.80MB/s
Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          6.50MB/s
Leaseweb, HongKong, CN          43.249.36.49            6.06MB/s
Vultr, Sydney, AUS              108.61.212.117
Softlayer, Sydney, AUS          168.1.1.212             6.60MB/s
Softlayer, Melbourne, AUS       168.1.65.244            6.40MB/s
Tele2, Gothenberg, SE           90.130.74.151           391KB/s
Tele2, Kista, SE                90.130.74.149           42.2MB/s
Softlayer, Milan, IT            159.122.128.84          42.0MB/s
Prometeus, Milan, IT            37.247.53.10            28.9MB/s
Tele2, Riga, LV         90.130.74.113           18.2MB/s
Tele2, Vilnius, LT              90.130.74.117           38.3MB/s
Server.LU, Luxembourg, LU       94.242.192.2            39.6MB/s
Tele2, Frankfurt, DE            90.130.74.155           1.10MB/s
Vultr, Frankfurt, DE            108.61.210.117
Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           45.9MB/s
Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            139MB/s
Leaseweb, Frankfurt, DE         37.58.58.140            76.1MB/s
DO, Frankfurt, DE               46.101.201.140          162MB/s
Vultr, Paris, FR                108.61.209.127
OVH, Gravelines, FR             5.196.90.200            65.5MB/s
OVH, Strasbourg, FR             5.135.128.81            40.0MB/s
OVH, Roubaix, FR                188.165.12.106          97.6MB/s
Online.Net, Paris, FR           62.210.18.40            97.9MB/s
Tele2, Amsterdam, NL            90.130.74.153           57.9MB/s
Vultr, Amsterdam, NL            108.61.198.102
DO 2, Amsterdam, NL             146.185.152.145         87.4MB/s
DO 3, Amsterdam, NL             178.62.219.145          70.4MB/s
Leaseweb, Amsterdam, NL         5.79.108.33             108MB/s
i3d, Amsterdam, NL              213.163.76.200          73.7MB/s
Vultr, London, UK               108.61.196.101
DO, London, UK          188.166.152.227         117MB/s
Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           129MB/s
Softlayer, London, UK           5.10.97.132             89.3MB/s
Softlayer, Mexico, MX           169.57.4.116            12.6MB/s
Softlayer, Brazil, BR           169.57.128.148          10.1MB/s
DO 1, NYC, USA          67.205.188.39           27.5MB/s
DO 2, NYC, USA          162.243.9.77            27.9MB/s
DO 3, NYC, USA          138.197.20.252          28.5MB/s
Vultr, New Jersey, USA          108.61.149.182
Linode, Newark, USA             50.116.57.237           26.3MB/s
Vultr, Illinois, USA            107.191.51.12
Vultr, Atlanta, USA             108.61.193.166
Linode, Atlanta, USA            50.116.39.117           20.2MB/s
Vultr, Miami, USA               104.156.244.232
Vultr, Washington, USA          108.61.194.105
Softlayer, Seattle, USA         67.228.112.250          14.0MB/s
Leaseweb, Washington, USA       207.244.94.80           24.9MB/s
Vultr, Dallas, USA              108.61.224.175
Linode, Dallas, USA             50.116.25.154           18.2MB/s
Softlayer, Dallas, USA          173.192.68.18           18.4MB/s
Leaseweb, Dallas, USA           209.58.153.1            18.4MB/s
Vultr, Los Angeles, USA         108.61.219.200
DO, San Francisco, USA          138.68.237.46           13.7MB/s
DO, San Francisco, USA          192.241.209.37          14.2MB/s
Linode, Fremont, USA            50.116.14.9             3.69MB/s
Leaseweb, San Francisco, USA    209.58.135.187          13.2MB/s
DO, Toronto, CA         138.197.135.163         24.2MB/s
OVH, Beauharnois, CA            192.99.19.165           5.69MB/s
EastLink, Canada, CA            24.222.0.194            12.0MB/s
Softlayer, Montreal, CA         169.54.124.180          20.3MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------
I/O speed(1st run) : 288 MB/s
I/O speed(2nd run) : 290 MB/s
I/O speed(3rd run) : 333 MB/s
Average I/O speed  : 303.667 MB/s

I also got 2GB RAM instead of 1GB which is nice.

Their storage node is capped to 500Mbps right now with 50 to 150 users.. They expect to see it resolved back to 10 Gbps after the weekend.


Thanked by 3caracal Aidan Waldo19
«13456711

Comments

  • Use pre tags for formatting please!

    < pre > </ pre>

    Thanks for the review. I wonder if there're any rate limits to that I/O given 150 users on node.

  • I have hard time believing that they are sustainable with these prices.. It's literally 3.30€ per month.

  • @stefeman said:
    I have hard time believing that they are sustainable with these prices.. It's literally 3.30€ per month.

    That being the case, why on earth would you buy it?

    Thanked by 1jvnadr

    Here lies Nekki. He loved massive amounts of storage, K-Pop and calling people cunts.

  • stefemanstefeman Member
    edited September 2017

    @Nekki said:

    @stefeman said:
    I have hard time believing that they are sustainable with these prices.. It's literally 3.30€ per month.

    That being the case, why on earth would you buy it?

    Too good deal to pass and even more so when I was looking for a storage VPS. Besides, the company looks reputable and stable enough.

  • MikeAMikeA Member, Provider
    edited September 2017
    • removed for kindness

    ExtraVM - AMD Ryzen VPS starting @ $3.50
    USA (TX, VA, FL), CA, FR, UK, SGP, AU

  • @stefeman said:

    @Nekki said:

    @stefeman said:
    I have hard time believing that they are sustainable with these prices.. It's literally 3.30€ per month.

    That being the case, why on earth would you buy it?

    Too good deal to pass and even more so when I was looking for a storage VPS. Besides, the company looks reputable and stable enough.

    Don’t fuck about with storage. You’ll regret it sooner or later.

    Here lies Nekki. He loved massive amounts of storage, K-Pop and calling people cunts.

  • I may grab one for my backup to my backup.... They'll raise the prices eventually.

  • I'm also tempted to buy one of these now but I have a feeling it's going to be overloaded to balls.

    Thanked by 1Aidan
  • This is from the OVH storage lineup, 500Mbps guaranteed. 10GigE is vRack bandwidth. Adding additional bandwidth would make this even more ridiculously unsustainable at this price point. Unless this is a limited quantity promo, I expect they'll go belly up in the near future.

    I wouldn't use this as a primary backup and don't buy more than the lowest quarterly billing cycle.

    Thanked by 1Aidan

    🐴 $2/mo 512MB KVM - Unmetered bandwidth. $1.25 for 256GB Block Storage - from BuyVM (aff)

  • huh ? 2GB RAM and 2 cores ?

    netcup 5 euro coupon: 36nc15324722143 36nc15324722144

  • K4Y5K4Y5 Member
    edited September 2017

    stefeman said: I also got 2GB RAM instead of 1GB which is nice.

    Their storage node is capped to 500Mbps right now with 50 to 150 users.. They expect to see it resolved back to 10 Gbps after the weekend.

    Just placed an order. Let's see what the fuss is all about, and whether I get the 2GB / 2vCores that @stefeman mentioned in his review.

    Edit -

    Got the server. The Disk / IO performance seems to have degraded by a factor of 5.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
    Number of cores      : 2
    CPU frequency        : 2399.805 MHz
    Total size of Disk   : 1000.0 GB (0.4 GB Used)
    Total amount of Mem  : 2048 MB (181 MB Used)
    Total amount of Swap : 2048 MB (0 MB Used)
    System uptime        : 0 days, 0 hour 40 min
    Load average         : 0.50, 0.12, 0.04
    OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
    Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
    Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab123.9
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    I/O speed(1st run)   : 91.3 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run)   : 63.9 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run)   : 61.6 MB/s
    Average I/O speed    : 72.3 MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
    CacheFly                        62.210.187.96           98.1MB/s
    Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          8.39MB/s
    Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            6.44MB/s
    Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           126MB/s
    Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           130MB/s
    Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             3.66MB/s
    Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           18.5MB/s
    Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          12.3MB/s
    Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            8.25MB/s
    Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           6.67MB/s
    Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          6.84MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    
  • Perhaps you can compare if they are both in the same node.

    @K4Y5 said:

    Got the server. The Disk / IO performance seems to have degraded by a factor of 5.

  • @K4Y5 said:

    stefeman said: I also got 2GB RAM instead of 1GB which is nice.

    Their storage node is capped to 500Mbps right now with 50 to 150 users.. They expect to see it resolved back to 10 Gbps after the weekend.

    Just placed an order. Let's see what the fuss is all about, and whether I get the 2GB / 2vCores that @stefeman mentioned in his review.

    Edit -

    Got the server. The Disk / IO performance seems to have degraded by a factor of 5.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
    Number of cores      : 2
    CPU frequency        : 2399.805 MHz
    Total size of Disk   : 1000.0 GB (0.4 GB Used)
    Total amount of Mem  : 2048 MB (181 MB Used)
    Total amount of Swap : 2048 MB (0 MB Used)
    System uptime        : 0 days, 0 hour 40 min
    Load average         : 0.50, 0.12, 0.04
    OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
    Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
    Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab123.9
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    I/O speed(1st run)   : 91.3 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run)   : 63.9 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run)   : 61.6 MB/s
    Average I/O speed    : 72.3 MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
    CacheFly                        62.210.187.96           98.1MB/s
    Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          8.39MB/s
    Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            6.44MB/s
    Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           126MB/s
    Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           130MB/s
    Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             3.66MB/s
    Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           18.5MB/s
    Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          12.3MB/s
    Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            8.25MB/s
    Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           6.67MB/s
    Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          6.84MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    I ordered one and receive the same performance, very different to original post. Awaiting this 10Gbps being returned though!

  • @6ixth said:

    @K4Y5 said:

    stefeman said: I also got 2GB RAM instead of 1GB which is nice.

    Their storage node is capped to 500Mbps right now with 50 to 150 users.. They expect to see it resolved back to 10 Gbps after the weekend.

    Just placed an order. Let's see what the fuss is all about, and whether I get the 2GB / 2vCores that @stefeman mentioned in his review.

    Edit -

    Got the server. The Disk / IO performance seems to have degraded by a factor of 5.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
    Number of cores      : 2
    CPU frequency        : 2399.805 MHz
    Total size of Disk   : 1000.0 GB (0.4 GB Used)
    Total amount of Mem  : 2048 MB (181 MB Used)
    Total amount of Swap : 2048 MB (0 MB Used)
    System uptime        : 0 days, 0 hour 40 min
    Load average         : 0.50, 0.12, 0.04
    OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
    Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
    Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab123.9
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    I/O speed(1st run)   : 91.3 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run)   : 63.9 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run)   : 61.6 MB/s
    Average I/O speed    : 72.3 MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
    CacheFly                        62.210.187.96           98.1MB/s
    Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          8.39MB/s
    Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            6.44MB/s
    Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           126MB/s
    Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           130MB/s
    Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             3.66MB/s
    Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           18.5MB/s
    Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          12.3MB/s
    Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            8.25MB/s
    Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           6.67MB/s
    Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          6.84MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    I ordered one and receive the same performance, very different to original post. Awaiting this 10Gbps being returned though!

    I highly doubt that it's going to go anywhere close to the 10GBit mark, as that is the vRack link speed.

    Besides, even if the FS-48T or FS-72T gets oversold like crazy, a 10GBit link isn't happening at 3.3EUR/Mo a pop.

    At that price, I'd be happy with 500MBit as long as the disk IO and network performance remain close to the reported stats.

  • 6ixth6ixth Member
    edited September 2017
  • I'm guessing at least a couple folks signed up because of this thread and are running tests and/or loading it up with data. I expect the speeds will continue to dip.

    Thanked by 1NanoG6

    🐴 $2/mo 512MB KVM - Unmetered bandwidth. $1.25 for 256GB Block Storage - from BuyVM (aff)

  • AidanAidan Member
    edited September 2017

    If they are reselling the servers that I have in mind, then they have 500 mbps bandwidth & only burst up to 10gbps.

    So as soon as the monthly 95th % usage goes above 500 mbps - the 10gbps bursting gets disabled for the rest of the month :/

  • @Aidan said:
    If they are reselling the servers that I have in mind, then they have 500 mbps bandwidth & only burst up to 10gbps.

    That's also what they advertise with (500Mbps / burst up to 10Gbs).

  • do they allow torrenting for private trackers ?

  • @K4Y5 said:

    @6ixth said:

    @K4Y5 said:

    stefeman said: I also got 2GB RAM instead of 1GB which is nice.

    Their storage node is capped to 500Mbps right now with 50 to 150 users.. They expect to see it resolved back to 10 Gbps after the weekend.

    Just placed an order. Let's see what the fuss is all about, and whether I get the 2GB / 2vCores that @stefeman mentioned in his review.

    Edit -

    Got the server. The Disk / IO performance seems to have degraded by a factor of 5.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
    Number of cores      : 2
    CPU frequency        : 2399.805 MHz
    Total size of Disk   : 1000.0 GB (0.4 GB Used)
    Total amount of Mem  : 2048 MB (181 MB Used)
    Total amount of Swap : 2048 MB (0 MB Used)
    System uptime        : 0 days, 0 hour 40 min
    Load average         : 0.50, 0.12, 0.04
    OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
    Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
    Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab123.9
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    I/O speed(1st run)   : 91.3 MB/s
    I/O speed(2nd run)   : 63.9 MB/s
    I/O speed(3rd run)   : 61.6 MB/s
    Average I/O speed    : 72.3 MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
    CacheFly                        62.210.187.96           98.1MB/s
    Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          8.39MB/s
    Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            6.44MB/s
    Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           126MB/s
    Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           130MB/s
    Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             3.66MB/s
    Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           18.5MB/s
    Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          12.3MB/s
    Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            8.25MB/s
    Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           6.67MB/s
    Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          6.84MB/s
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    

    I ordered one and receive the same performance, very different to original post. Awaiting this 10Gbps being returned though!

    I highly doubt that it's going to go anywhere close to the 10GBit mark, as that is the vRack link speed.

    Besides, even if the FS-48T or FS-72T gets oversold like crazy, a 10GBit link isn't happening at 3.3EUR/Mo a pop.

    At that price, I'd be happy with 500MBit as long as the disk IO and network performance remain close to the reported stats.

    I always reached 1 - 2Gbps, but for thier price you can't go wrong :P

  • do they allow torrenting for private trackers ?

    Very few providers are explicitly against torrenting - usually it's fine as long as you don't get DMCA/etc notices.

  • Thanks, goin to get it.

  • Yeah ,well , ordered one.

    network is slow-ish , even the terminal command, but with that price , can't ask anymore.

    netcup 5 euro coupon: 36nc15324722143 36nc15324722144

  • paid the invoice around 30mins ago. still no payment confirmation email, and when i log into my account it says i have an unpaid invoice. do they manually check all payments?

  • @roshan91 said:
    paid the invoice around 30mins ago. still no payment confirmation email, and when i log into my account it says i have an unpaid invoice. do they manually check all payments?

    Yes, it appears to be so ,i have wait few hours to get it done and vps activatex

    netcup 5 euro coupon: 36nc15324722143 36nc15324722144

  • jvnadrjvnadr Member
    edited September 2017

    samm said: do they allow torrenting for private trackers ?

    That's why we cannot have good things!
    I suppose if they find out that you do active torrenting on a storage server, you will be kicked out immediately... Storage servers are not for anything else than..., you know, storage! Torrenting, even with private tracking, is a heavy task with constant read - write activity to the disk.
    So, please, do other users a favor and don't get this for torrenting...

    EDIT:

    Their TOS:
    By using treudler.net hosting services, you agree to not abuse systems or networks in any way that may harm the usability of other client services, or harm outside networks or individuals. This includes but is not limited to [...] other forms of resource abuse that may cause harm to other clients.
    So, I guess, no torrenting on a storage server...

  • Harambe said: Unless this is a limited quantity promo, I expect they'll go belly up in the near future.

    It is a limited promo, not advertised in their site:

    Discover the Treudler VPS - Save up to 58% with our special deals! - Limited stock available

    Or else, a server would cost over 500€ for ~100TB storage (with no mirroring raid at all) and for 3,3€ per month, they could only pay for 2/3 of the server alone (beside company costs, profit etc.) if they could fill it...
    I also guess that it is heavy oversell hoping that very less customers will reach their 1TB space... It's a common practice for most storage providers.

  • My thoughts on this one:

    I signed up for the unsustainable 1TB deal but then it didn't got provisioned because of a "Paypal error". Finally got it up running but it is unusable at all. Typing in the console is slow as fuck. A simple yum update -y is not going to finish before dark coming for sure. This strangely reminds me of a similar storage deal that we've seen not so long ago. Damn.

    I predict this will become another clusterfuck... that smells like it.

    Tl;dr I like to try new stuff even if I know it will be shit. I have to try it! My bad, for sure :D

  • They have a issues about speed and because this thread they receive some news orders ( it's not bad, but maybe not the better timming ). They said a hot fix will come today. Wait and see...

  • jvnadrjvnadr Member
    edited September 2017

    FredQc said: I predict this will become another clusterfuck... that smells like it.

    Giv'em some time... I suppose all the nice fellows in LET that grabbed the deal, are doing tons of benchmark atm...
    As of the similar storage deal, I suppose you reffer to @cociu 's deal. It was a pita when he offered the deal here, but nowadays, long after he managed to stabilize his infrastructure, it is working like a charm: fast enough, stable enough and with all the space there! So, kudos to him!

    Thanked by 1cociu
Sign In or Register to comment.