Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Can I upgrade Linux version safely on dedicated server?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Can I upgrade Linux version safely on dedicated server?

I have a dedicated server from Online.net running Ubuntu 12.04.
I want to get 16.04 running on it and reinstalling is not an option. Is it possible?
I am not an expert, but I dont mind reinstalling some programs to make them works.

I have big data (a few TB) on the server and tranaferring out for a reinstallation of the server might take a very long time, plus I don't have another big server to keep my files temporarily.

Comments

• Yeape it can be done. Should it be done prolly not.

• WSSWSS Member
    edited August 2017

If you don't know what the underlying OS requirements are- even if they were OpenVZ, you are not intelligent enough to handle it. Pay someone a few dollars a month to do it for you.

• @AuroraZ said:
    Yeape it can be done. Should it be done prolly not.

Is it hard? I am thinking about it gonna break stuff or not. Since I never do an upgrade, I asked here for opinions whether I should or shouldn't.

@WSS said:
    If you don't know what the underlying OS requirements are- even if they were OpenVZ, you are not intelligent enough to handle it. Pay someone a few dollars a month to do it for you.

So I guess it is very risky? About your suggestion, it is safe for me to pass my server to someone I do not know? I had server on dreamhost years back and got f*cked up by my own friend after giving him an access to the server to fix something.

• psycholyzern said: Is it hard? I am thinking about it gonna break stuff or not. Since I never do an upgrade, I asked here for opinions whether I should or shouldn't.