Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I consider DNS hosting?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Should I consider DNS hosting?

HuntersPadHuntersPad Member
edited August 2017 in Help

I run a File Hosting site, most of the traffic comes from my own uploads and little from others, but is it worth to get DNS hosting? Reason I ask is its a .eu domain and I hate having to pay for a domain name just to have nameservers for it to host it as its the only domain on the VPS.

I've never used DNS hosting before so bit of a noob at it.

Any tips? Can it be used fine on a file hosting site? not looking for CDN for the actual files I'm hosting though.

And any DNS services to recommend? Was looking at testing out cloudns.net

Thank you

Comments

• HarambeHarambe Member, Host Rep

I always use external DNS, but registrar DNS can be decent enough - depending on the registrar.

CloudNS is fine, but you can also use CloudFlare and just disable the CDN feature.

Thanked by 1HuntersPad
  • @Harambe said:
    I always use external DNS, but registrar DNS can be decent enough - depending on the registrar.

CloudNS is fine, but you can also use CloudFlare and just disable the CDN feature.

Thanks! Yeah I'm just tired of using custom name servers etc for me its pointless.

• What would I need to do DNS zone wise on my VPS?

Thanks.

@HuntersPad said:
    What would I need to do DNS zone wise on my VPS?

Thanks.

Bind. Or you can look at other recommendations around here.

Probably need to do some more searching for a more up to date guide: https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-configure-bind-as-a-private-network-dns-server-on-ubuntu-14-04