Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is 128MB enough?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Is 128MB enough?

I am new to VPS . Is 128MB enough to run a XMPP server and an Email server simultaneously . Will there be enough space to run a Web server too ?

Comments

• MikeInMikeIn Member
    edited July 2013

@challapradyumna said:
    XMPP server

Do you want to use Windows??

Else For static Website, an optimized setting may run a Web Server with Email server
    easily. Though 256 MB OpenVZ is also available quite cheap.

• StarryStarry Member, Host Rep

LNMP runs fine on my 128M box.

• Windows - No . Strictly want to use linux for the learning experience . There is ejabberd for XMPP server .

• @challapradyumna said:
    I am new to VPS . Is 128MB enough to run a XMPP server and an Email server simultaneously . Will there be enough space to run a Web server too ?

How much is your time worth to "fine tune" your VPS and what is your budget like

• edited July 2013

I have a month holidays between semester . Just read a book on XMPP standards and its implementation so just want to try it out on a live server . And things like these are not available on shared host so wanted to try out VPS . http://www.lowendbox.com/blog/versatile-it-10year-128mb-openvz-vps-in-phoenix-arizona/ the phoeinx reborn plan looks good to me . Just need to find a way to pay since i do not have any credit cards but that is another problem .

• MikeInMikeIn Member

See this one :- my.shardhost.com/cart.php?gid=4
    @ShardHost

• MikeInMikeIn Member

Unfortunately it has only 5GB HDD

• I will not be storing any files except the databases so 5Gb should be enough . BTW noobish doubt - Should we install the OS or the VPS comes with a standard OS ?