Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!


VestaCP vs Virtualmin - Opinion, Thoughts, Advice
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

VestaCP vs Virtualmin - Opinion, Thoughts, Advice

Call me slow, or needy as this one of several requests for help this week, but I have only just learned about VestaCP. I've been using Virtualmin as a GUI to manage virtual hosts on VPSs and dedicated servers since 2012. Just yesterday, someone recommended that I switch to VestaCP because it is more "robust." I've done some googling and it looks interesting for the command line impaired like me. I'd appreciate anyone's thoughts or experiences. I am going to get another VPS and install to try it out. Thanks.

Comments

  • FalzoFalzo Member

    Vesta is quite goid depending on your needs. Of course it has its edges which one can work with if there is some understanding of cli and scripting.

    That said you probably should try to define your needs first and prioritise them. Like first priority is a clean not to compley interface you like to provide to your clients for basic tasks like adding mailboxes and DBs and so on..

    If you through that yoh should easily be able to find the panel YOU want ;-)

    UltraVPS.eu KVM in US/UK/NL/DE: 15% off first 6 month | Netcup VPS/rootDS - 5€ off: 36nc15279180197 (ref)

  • clickclouditclickcloudit Member, Provider

    I've been using vesta on production sites for over 3 years. It is basic compare to cPanel but i like it that way, you can tune or do whatever very easily. Definitely switch

    Thanked by 1Falzo
  • @clickcloudit said:
    I've been using vesta on production sites for over 3 years. It is basic compare to cPanel but i like it that way, you can tune or do whatever very easily. Definitely switch

    Thanked by 1Amitz

    Yeah, I have memes. Not much else. Links are affiliate links

    Powered by VMHaus (NVMe servers in UK, FR & CA with DDoS protection and BGP Sessions in UK) & Piohost Premium Bristolingrad

  • clickclouditclickcloudit Member, Provider

    @GenjiSwitchPls said:

    @clickcloudit said:
    I've been using vesta on production sites for over 3 years. It is basic compare to cPanel but i like it that way, you can tune or do whatever very easily. Definitely switch

    Wow can you stop harassing me? just reported you.

  • WebProjectWebProject Member, Provider

    VestaCP setup is pain in the neck, we prefer the virtualmin.

    VPS Price Match Guarantee on: All our range of DDOS protected VPS Plans
    Are you looking for best price for self-managed VPS? See WebProVPS website for more details.
  • I've used Vestacp with many VPS's. I would recommend it without a doubt. It is not as good as cpanel , because they don't offer the reseller feature yet. But it is good for personal use.

    However there is another alternative as well : http://centos-webpanel.com/

  • AmitzAmitz Member
    edited June 2017

    It makes me shiver that some of you even dare to compare Virtualmin/Webmin to VestaCP. There are galaxies between them. VestaCP might be okay to host some personal sites, but that's all. If you got a budget, then use Plesk (testing it since some weeks and am quite pleased) or cPanel if you have to.

    For those who care:
    You can now find me at https://talk.lowendspirit.com or https://www.hostballs.com

  • vestaCP is a good solution, lately updates are not frequent, you need to tune a little for your needs(still in 0.9.8 version), if you cant handle cli and scripting dont use in production, virtualmin is more stable.

  • @emptyPD said:
    vestaCP is a good solution, lately updates are not frequent, you need to tune a little for your needs(still in 0.9.8 version), if you cant handle cli and scripting dont use in production, virtualmin is more stable.

    They have recently revamped their site.

  • jarjar Provider
    edited June 2017

    VestaCP is solid for personal and client hosting, in large capacity and small. It barely handled what I threw at it but that was also late 2013, it's 2017 now and the product has advanced incredibly. I still have about 300 customers on it, updated and running flawlessly.

    With that said, use what works for you. Don't switch away from something that does it's job unless you just want new shiny things. Wanting new shiny things is totally legit, I operate that way frequently. I just spend a lot more time dealing with little things because of it.

    "Note that Romania has laws agains all the illegal activities just like US, including copyright. Is not the Dracula's country or no man's land as you thought." - Random email from someone I don't know, about nothing I've done or said

  • I also use VestaCP in some VPS and it is very efficient for small websites as it is light and easy to use, however it does not have reseller resources.

  • nunimnunim Member
    edited June 2017

    @WebProject said:
    VestaCP setup is pain in the neck, we prefer the virtualmin.

    How so? You go on their site, pick the packages that you want & run the installer script on a fresh VPS. You can certainly tweak it to your liking, i.e. Apache/Nginx profiles but it works fairly well in the default config. I host several websites on a crappy-ish storage VPS & it works great.


    VestaCP is a winner, it's fairly lightweight as it allows you to pick the services you want, i.e. I didn't want FTP/ClamAV/SpamAssassin/IPTables/Bind9. There's a CSF/LFD integration available on the forums to manage it from the GUI, otherwise you can use SSH or the built-in LFD server.

    In regards to Reseller, it's not as good as cPanel but it does offer the Reseller abilities. Their backup system isn't as good as cPanel but it works well enough, I've moved VPS twice using their built-in backup system.

    My only wish is that it was updated more often & had IPv6 support, however these is a github project that adds this function if needed. There's a Softaculous integration as well in progress but their release schedule is... intermittent.

    The community is also pretty great and there's a wide variety of plugins that add functionality, such as File Manager, Auto-Installer for scripts, etc..

    I've picked up VestaCP a few years ago and it's far better than any other the other free manager, it's quite simple to do a task instead of going through 8 menus with Webmin or Virtualmin.

    SonicBoxes.com - VPS Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
    6UA.net Various tools, screenshots, password gen, looking glass, etc..

  • clickclouditclickcloudit Member, Provider
    edited June 2017

    @vpsfast said:
    I also use VestaCP in some VPS and it is very efficient for small websites as it is light and easy to use, however it does not have reseller resources.

    @Amitz said:
    It makes me shiver that some of you even dare to compare Virtualmin/Webmin to VestaCP. There are galaxies between them. VestaCP might be okay to host some personal sites, but that's all. If you got a budget, then use Plesk (testing it since some weeks and am quite pleased) or cPanel if you have to.

    I would have to disagree with you, I've used it on production sites and serve around 60 million visitors a year, and its rock solid. Still use it and still server 3-5 million per month.

    24TB served this month

    Cpanel / Plesk is for people who don't want to touch command line and such.

    Thanked by 1lowendclient
  • AmitzAmitz Member
    edited June 2017

    Well, I am not sure about eventual changes in the meantime, but the VestaCP that I tried around one year ago was only suitable for hobbyists and full of annoying bugs. I won't try it again (happy with the other possible solutions), but good to hear that it obviously has evolved.

    For those who care:
    You can now find me at https://talk.lowendspirit.com or https://www.hostballs.com

  • hostenshostens Member, Provider

    VestaCP is good when you only need what it can offer. Webmin has more functionality and it is more suitable if you do not want to manage those features through command line.

    Hostens - a home for your website.

  • vpsfastvpsfast Member
    edited June 2017

    @clickcloudit said:

    @vpsfast said:
    I also use VestaCP in some VPS and it is very efficient for small websites as it is light and easy to use, however it does not have reseller resources.

    @Amitz said:
    It makes me shiver that some of you even dare to compare Virtualmin/Webmin to VestaCP. There are galaxies between them. VestaCP might be okay to host some personal sites, but that's all. If you got a budget, then use Plesk (testing it since some weeks and am quite pleased) or cPanel if you have to.

    I would have to disagree with you, I've used it on production sites and serve around 60 million visitors a year, and its rock solid. Still use it and still server 3-5 million per month.

    24TB served this month !

    Cpanel / Plesk is for people who don't want to touch command line and such.

    @clickcloudit I'm happy for you, I said because I only used it on small websites. I've never used it for a big website.

  • HxxxHxxx Member

    Nobody knew you are the webmaster of pornhub. I mean millions visits per month. Good to know.

    @clickcloudit said:

    @vpsfast said:
    I also use VestaCP in some VPS and it is very efficient for small websites as it is light and easy to use, however it does not have reseller resources.

    @Amitz said:
    It makes me shiver that some of you even dare to compare Virtualmin/Webmin to VestaCP. There are galaxies between them. VestaCP might be okay to host some personal sites, but that's all. If you got a budget, then use Plesk (testing it since some weeks and am quite pleased) or cPanel if you have to.

    I would have to disagree with you, I've used it on production sites and serve around 60 million visitors a year, and its rock solid. Still use it and still server 3-5 million per month.

    24TB served this month

    Cpanel / Plesk is for people who don't want to touch command line and such.

  • Both virtualmin and vestacp is fucking easy to install. Althought virtualmin has a lot of feature, I prefet vestacp. Because I loves simple. I wish life is that simple.

  • Have been using Vestacp for few year. With little configuration it can handle huge traffic smoothly.

    Thanked by 1lowendclient
  • For me WebMin or VirtualMin would be more ideal for SystemsAdmin of dedicated servers or large VPSs than people running small VPSs. VestaCP can be a very light panel using the minimum of resources. My comparison between the two would be a very old and reliable Rolls Royce for WebMin and a very fast Volkswagen Golf GTi for VestaCP. There is much more to Webmin than VestaCP, but your average VPS Admin may not need all of what's on Webmin.

    I'm a VestaCP user myself. I first started to use it in 2014 when it still had a number of bugs, but I'd say presently almost all of those bugs are history. It's a very modern panel - very light to the touch, takes up very little resources and I can get it up and running within minutes. What I really like is its Community Forum that is actively supported by the VestaCP Admin. I get a turn around in answers (provided they are questions that haven't already been answered before) within hours.

    Here are the things I didn't like about WebMin when I tried it out:

    Installation is not as easy as with VestaCP installation where one can generate an installation script from VestaCP installation page with exactly what one wants to have in the panel and nothing more or less. I'm able to create a bare bones panel if I want, or one with all of the bells and whistles.
    https://vestacp.com/install/

    With WebMin one has to go a few extra steps to install the script. One gets one huge panel with a million and one features and options whether one wants them or not. That would be more than OK for dedicated servers or large VPSs, but not for admin with smaller needs who possibly have limited specs on their VPSs as well.

    I find the user interface of WebMin antiquated. Whereas VestaCP is modern and much easier to navigate. It is also much more attractive looking.

    Nice that WebMin has a File Manager as with VestaCP one has to purchase a plugin for it, but over the years of using VestaCP I've learned to do without.

  • @deanhills said:
    My comparison between the two would be a very old and reliable Rolls Royce for WebMin and a very fast Volkswagen Golf GTi for VestaCP.

    Yeah, that about sums it up.
    I am running a few dozen VPS, started out with Webmin but learned to love Vesta for its simplicity and its features out of the box. Think Nginx/Apache proxy, reasonable IPtables setup etc. All stuff that you can have with webmin as well, sure - but it's a pain to configure, and if resources matter vesta is way better for low end boxes.
    What's more - if you have to orchestrate many VPS it's a breeze to write a few scripts that utilize the Vesta CLI. Just love it.

  • Thanked by 1jaypeesmith

    Yesterday's Jam

  • jaypeesmithjaypeesmith Member
    edited January 2018

    I just checked out the VestaCP roadmap and, from what I see, they have made a hell of a lot of progress since I last used it. I still see that they are working on IPv6 support (not a showstopper for me) but, the list of what they've accomplished to date is nothing to sneeze at.

    I will say, however, that I don't understand why it got support for Ubuntu 16.10 and 17.04 in its Dec. 2017 release. By then, it was months past the EOL for 16.10 and about 2 weeks before EOL for 17.04. They would probably be better served to stick to supporting LTS releases.

    I am still partial to Virtualmin but, I could see VestaCP as being something very useful.

  • agentmishraagentmishra Member, Provider
    edited January 2018

    @MTUser2012 said:

    both have pros and cons

    below is the detail of the comparative list, done by the earlier admin @mpkossen

    a few more cp's could be added to it, but for the present comparison, i feel its just exactly what you require.

    https://lowendbox.com/blog/editorial-review-of-free-web-hosting-panels/

    i havent used virtualmin so i cannot much comment much about it

    i have personally used vesta since 2013 and still have client on it

    @jaypeesmith:
    also ipv6 for vestacp is up and working, not yet merged with the main stream, i my self have tested it

    https://github.com/serghey-rodin/vesta/pull/1139

    Thanked by 1jaypeesmith

    skype id : agentmishra, gtalk id : agentmishra, email : [email protected]

  • FHRFHR Member, Provider

    Webmin used to have a pretty dated interface. It has a modern theme now and I find it pretty good, could be compared to cPanel in some ways. It supports a lot of different configurations and is very stable. You can get commercial support for it.

    SkylonHost - affordable hourly-billed KVM VPS in Prague, CZ!
    Featuring own high performance network AS202297 | RIPE NCC member

  • sobsob Member

    I'm very happy with Virtualmin. It just runs. I like fancy features, litespeed, varnish and whatnot. But most of all I like a server that runs every minute of every day.
    I didn't get up and running with VestaCP and they wanted to charge for a file manager ($3 per month). Happy to pay but it should run first. Also, I didn't find helpful Vesta communities (I don't speak Russian.) ... and when you look at the prices for their support - a 1 hour pack is like 6 months a CPanel license where support is free or a year of Virtualmin premium. There are two truths when I'm unable to install SSL. 1) I don't have talent 2) I am as untalented on other panels but got it to work.
    For non-experts, CPanel and Virtualmin are GOLD.

Sign In or Register to comment.